Stevie Wonder – Down To Earth (1966/2015) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Stevie Wonder – Down To Earth (1966/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 33:22 minutes | 1,48 GB | Gerne: R&B
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © Universal Motown

Down to Earth is the sixth studio album by American singer-songwriter Stevie Wonder, released on November 16, 1966 on the Tamla (Motown) label. The album was a departure from Wonder’s earlier, teen pop-driven albums, and, along with its predecessor, Up-Tight, it re-established the sixteen-year-old Wonder, whose voice had recently changed, as a Motown hitmaker. The LP features the hit single “A Place in the Sun”. Another single, “Hey Love”, became a hit for Detroit soul singer Betty Lavette the following year.

Stevie Wonder’s third album signaled more artistic growth, but was the first of his career that didn’t make much commercial headway. It didn’t contain a single big hit, something that wouldn’t happen again to Wonder for many, many years. There were moments of uncertainty and awkwardness on such songs as “Angel Baby (Don’t You Ever Leave Me)” and “Lonesome Road.” Wonder was laying the groundwork for numerous classics that routinely came throughout the 1970s and ’80s; his voice was losing its cuteness and beginning to gain the richness and edge that punctuated many of his future albums. –AllMusic Review by Ron Wynn

1. A Place In The Sun 02:51
2. Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down) 02:43
3. Down To Earth 02:51
4. Thank You Love 02:55
5. Be Cool Be Calm (And Keep Yourself Together) 02:43
6. Sylvia 02:36
7. My World Is Empty Without You 02:52
8. The Lonesome Road 03:06
9. Angel Baby (Don’t You Ever Leave Me) 02:46
10. Mr. Tambourine Man 02:31
11. Sixteen Tons 02:43
12. Hey Love 02:45

Stevie Wonder – harmonica, keyboards, drums, percussion, vocals
The Originals – backing vocals
The Andantes – backing vocals
Benny Benjamin – drums
James Jamerson – bass