Sophie Ellis-Bextor – The Song Diaries (2019) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Sophie Ellis-Bextor – The Song Diaries (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:13:18 minutes | 899 MB | Genre:  Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Cooking Vinyl Limited

The Orchestral Greatest Hits features 19 incredible tracks including ‘Murder On The Dancefloor’, ‘GrooveJet’, Take Me Home’ plus ‘Love Is You’ which was recently A-listed at Radio 2 and performed on The One Show and the Blue Peter 60th birthday show. The album features orchestral versions of 6 Top 10 hits!” Joyous, exhilarating reinvention and reminiscence” – Evening Standard (4*)

This new album has created quite a buzz. It covers some of Sophie Ellis-Bextor’s most iconic pieces for symphony orchestra, featuring her three greatest hits Groovejet (by Italian DJ Spiller in 2000), Take Me Home (a cover of a Cher song from 2001) and, of course, the unmistakable Murder on the Dancefloor (2001), whose delightful flamenco rhythms are an added bonus for the listener on top of the incredible string ensemble. The album then unfurls smoothly track after track, providing a rather moving flashback in the long career of the English singer with a porcelain complexion. It captures the depth of Young Blood (whose charming hook in the intro on piano is replaced by strings and clarinet), the cinematic lyricism of Heartbreak and also includes a rendition of her waltz tune Love Is a Camera.

Admittedly, the orchestra plays in a very classical rather than daring way, but the huge contrast between some of these versions and the original dance pieces certainly makes for an intriguing listen. As an added bonus, Take Me Home and Murder on the Dancefloor have each been revamped in a combination of styles as the sound of the orchestra is mixed with a disco rhythm, and staying within the disco theme, The Song Diaries also includes the singer’s recent track Love Is You (2018) which brings The Love Boat to mind. – Nicolas Magenham

01. Groovejet (Orchestral Version) 03:20
02. Take Me Home (Orchestral Version) 04:23
03. Murder On The Dancefloor (Orchestral Version)03:46
04. Move This Mountain (Orchestral Version) 04:47
05. Music Gets The Best Of Me (Orchestral Version) 03:28
06. Mixed Up World (Orchestral Version) 03:43
07. Catch You (Orchestral Version) 03:58
08. Me And My Imagination (Orchestral Version) 03:47
09. Today The Sun’s On Us (Orchestral Version) 04:20
10. Heartbreak (Make Me a Dancer) (Orchestral Version) 03:52
11. Bittersweet (Orchestral Version) 03:36
12. Not Giving Up On Love (Orchestral Version) 03:14
13. Young Blood (Orchestral Version) 04:39
14. Love Is A Camera (Orchestral Version) 03:57
15. Wild Forever (Orchestral Version) 04:31
16. A Pessimist Is Never Disappointed (Orchestral Version) (Bonus Track) 04:04
17. Love Is You (Bonus Track) 03:16
18. Take Me Home (Orchestral Disco Version) (Bonus Track) 03:15
19. Murder on the Dancefloor (Orchestral Disco Version) (Bonus Track) 03:26