Sonora Slocum & John Wilson – Return (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Sonora Slocum & John Wilson – Return (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 54:55 minutes | 1,02 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Affetto Recordings

Sonora Slocum was appointed Principal Flute of the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra in 2012 at the age of 22 and has performed with orchestras around the country including guest principal flute with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra. She has appeared with the Philadelphia Orchestra on flute and piccolo. Her collaborations as guest principal include touring and audio recordings with the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra as well as visual recordings with the Philharmonia Orchestra of New York at Lincoln Center. Slocum has worked under such renowned conductors as Charles Dutoit, Christoph Eschenbach, Rafael Fruhbeck de Burgos, Sir Simon Rattle, Edo de Waart, Otto-Werner Mueller, John Williams, and David Zinman, among many others. A recent review stated that Slocum has a HUGE sound…and a wizards bag resplendent with technical prowess and musical freshness. The conception of this debut album, Return, stemmed from Slocums interest in astrology and reflected on this period of her life; her first Saturn Return. The tracks on this album represent both pivotal repertoire for flutists and some of the most technically demanding.

1 Canozone for Flute & Piano, Op. 38a 03:48
2 Suite paysanne hongroise, Sz. 71 (Arr. P. Arma for Flute & Piano): I. Chants populaires tristes 04:59
3 Suite paysanne hongroise, Sz. 71 (Arr. P. Arma for Flute & Piano): II. Scherzo 00:49
4 Suite paysanne hongroise, Sz. 71 (Arr. P. Arma for Flute & Piano): III. Vieilles danses 06:34
5 I. Flowing 05:58
6 Duo for Flute & Piano: II. Poetic, Somewhat Mournful 05:16
7 III. Lively, With Bounce 03:27
8 Nocturne in C-Sharp Minor, Op. Posth., B. 49 “Reminiscence” (Arr. for Flute & Piano) 04:35
9 Fantaisie 08:00
10 Ballade for Flute & Piano 07:50
11 Syrinx, L. 129 03:39

Sonora Slocum, flute
John Wilson, piano