Sonny Rollins – Sonny Rollins And The Contemporary Leaders (1958/2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Sonny Rollins – Sonny Rollins And The Contemporary Leaders (1958/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 44:30 minutes | 1,5 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front cover | © Contemporary Records/Concord Music
Recorded: October 20, 21 & 22, 1958 at Contemporary Studio, Los Angeles

Sonny Rollins and the Contemporary Leaders is an album by jazz saxophonist Sonny Rollins, recorded for the Contemporary label, featuring performances by Rollins with Hampton Hawes, Barney Kessel, Leroy Vinnegar, and Shelly Manne with Victor Feldman added on one track. It was the last record Rollins produced before a hiatus from recording and performing in public, before his return with The Bridge in 1962.

The last of the classic Sonny Rollins albums prior to his unexpected three-year retirement features the great tenor with pianist Hampton Hawes, guitarist Barney Kessel, bassist Leroy Vinnegar, and drummer Shelly Manne (all bandleaders for Contemporary Records during this era) on an unusual but inspired list of standards. Rollins creates explorative and often witty improvisations on such songs as “Rock-A-Bye Your Baby with a Dixie Melody,” “You,” “In the Chapel in the Moonlight,” and roaring versions of “I’ve Found a New Baby” and “The Song Is You.” Great music. -AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

1 I’ve Told Ev’ry Little Star 05:27
2 Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody 04:56
3 How High The Moon 07:47
4 You 04:15
5 I Found A New Baby 03:41
6 Alone Together 06:01
7 In The Chapel In The Moonlight 06:42
8 The Song Is You 05:42

Sonny Rollins, tenor saxophone
Hampton Hawes, piano
Barney Kessel, guitar
Leroy Vinnegar, bass
Shelly Manne, drums
Victor Feldman – vibes #4