Son Volt – Union (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Son Volt – Union (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 39:06 minutes | 461 MB | Genre:  Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Transmit Sound

Led by vocalist, guitarist, and songwriter Jay Farrar, Son Volt became one of the leading bands in the alternative country community, attracting critical praise and an audience that was loyal if not always large. Farrar has collaborated with Ben Gibbard (Death Cab for Cutie), Steven Drozd (The Flaming Lips), Jeff Tweedy (Wilco) and several other well respected artists / musicians. Their upcoming album Union will be the bands 10th studio album mixes present and past into strong confluence.The thirteen new songs written by Farrar confront our turbulent politics and articulate the clarity and comfort music can offer in the tumult.

Between 1987 and 1994, Jay Farrar and Jeff Tweedy were in a group called Uncle Tupelo, one of the greatest Americana alternative country groups of the century. After they broke up, Tweedy continued the group under the new name of Wilco and Farrar went on to form Son Volt. Fifteen years later, Union not only perfectly captures the energy of Farrar’s group but it also shows that the fifty-year-old songwriter from Illinois still has the same style, unlike Tweedy who experimented a lot with Wilco’s style. The folk music in this 9th album from Son Volt is politically charged and touches on longstanding struggles in America that are still ongoing in 2019. Some songs from Union were even recorded in places with historical significance such as the Mother Jones Museum in Mount Olive which was dedicated to Mary Harris, a great American trade unionist and socialist activist. Others were recorded in the Woody Guthrie Centre in Tulsa which is dedicated to the folk music legend, Woody Guthrie. In the shadow of these historical icons, Jay Farrar and his fellow musicians make their convictions clear in this intense collection of 13 songs. – Clotilde Maréchal

1. While Rome Burns
2. The 99
3. Devil May Care
4. Broadsides
5. Reality Winner
6. Union
7. The Reason
8. Lady Liberty
9. Holding Your Own
10. Truth to Power Blues
11. Rebel Girl
12. Slow Burn
13. The Symb