Smokey Robinson – Where There’s Smoke… (1979/2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Smokey Robinson – Where There’s Smoke… (1979/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 34:58 minutes | 1,29 GB | Genre: R&B, Soul
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Artwork: Front cover | © UNI/Motown

Smokey Robinson’s 1979 solo release Where There’s Smoke…, called his “finest album” by Robert Christgau in The Village Voice, includes his biggest solo single, the top five smash Cruisin’. Robinson also modernizes and updates his own song Get Ready, a huge hit for both the Temptations in the 1960s and Rare Earth in the ’70s.

This album was a considerable return to form, Smokey Robinson’s most commercially successful solo LP up to this point (and highest-charting record in 11 years), entirely due to the single “Cruisin’” (number four pop and R&B), his biggest pop hit since “The Tears of a Clown.” Motown doesn’t seem to have recognized that track’s potency, leading off with the flop “Get Ready” (a disco treatment of the old Temptations hit) before turning to “Cruisin’” as a second single several months after the LP’s release. Where There’s Smoke… then took off and peaked at number 17, more than six months after first appearing. Although the LP is divided into “Smoke” and “Fire” sides, both sides start out with rhythmic songs and gradually slow down to near-ballad speed, with the sensuous “Cruisin’” the final “Fire” track. In retrospect, the album may be uneven and a touch too disco-ish in places, but in 1979-1980, Where’s There’s Smoke… brought Smokey Robinson back into the limelight. -AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann


1 It’s A Good Night 5:44
2 I Love The Nearness Of You 4:29
3 The Hurt’s On You 4:14
4 Ever Had A Dream 3:44

5 Get Ready 5:44
6 Share It 4:51
7 Cruisin’ 5:52

Alto Saxophone, Flute, Soloist [Flute Solos] – Fred Smith
Arranged By – Reginald “Sonny” Burke
Backing Vocals – Benard Ighner, Charles Wright, Cheryl Cooper, Claudette Robinson, Ivory Davis, James “Alibe” Sledge, Patricia Henley Talbert, Paula Dickerson
Bass – Bernard Reed, Chuck Rainey, Larry Davis, Nathan Watts, Wayne Tweed
Congas, Bongos – Eddie “Bongo” Brown, James “Alibe” Sledge
Drums – Brian Grice, Dennis Davis, James Gadson, Scotty Harris
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes] – Greg Phillinganes
Guitar – Byron Gregory, Danny Leake, David T. Walker, Marvin Tarplin , Melvin “Wah Wah” Ragin, Michael Sembello, Paul Jackson, Richard Littlefield, Rick Zunigar, Robert White
Horns, Strings – Michael Jacobsen
Keyboards – Lawrence Hanks, Roger Harris, Ronnie Rancifer, Ronnie McNeir, Reginald “Sonny” Burke, Terry Fryer
Tambourine – Ivory Davis, Jack Ashford
Vocals – William “Smokey” Robinson