Smokey Robinson & The Miracles – Going To A Go-Go (1965/2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles – Going To A Go-Go (1965/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 00:33:54 minutes | 1,38 GB | Genre: R&B, Soul
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Artwork: Front cover | © UNI/Motown

The only album from the Miracles to break into the US top 10, Going To A Go-Go from 1965 spawned four top 20 hit singles, including The Tracks Of My Tears, included at number 50 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 greatest songs of all time. The tune was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2007 and has also been preserved by the United States Library of Congress as an “culturally, historicall, and aesthetically significance” to the National Recording Registry.

Though its title track ignited a nationwide fad for go-go music, Smokey Robinson & the Miracles’ Going to a Go-Go LP certainly wasn’t just a cash-in effort. It’s one of the best records the group put out, and the first six songs make for the best side of any original Motown LP of the ’60s (granted, all but one are also available on dozens of Miracles compilations). The four biggest hits were among the best in a set of Miracles archetypes: the throwback to the aching ’50s doo wop ballad (“Ooo Baby, Baby”), the flashy up-tempo dance song (“Going to a Go-Go”), the dancing-with-tears-in-my-eyes jerker (“The Tracks of My Tears”), and the mid-tempo orchestral epic (“My Girl Has Gone”). “Choosey Beggar” is one of the sweetest of all Robinson’s lead vocals, with stunning background work by the rest of the Miracles. Even the album tracks shine, with “All That’s Good” and “Let Me Have Some” working as excellent additions to the program. -AllMusic Review by John Bush

1. The Tracks Of My Tears 02:56
2. Going To A Go-Go 02:48
3. Ooo Baby Baby 02:47
4. My Girl Has Gone 02:52
5. In Case You Need Love 02:39
6. Choosey Beggar 02:35
7. Since You Won My Heart 02:18
8. From Head To Toe 02:27
9. All That’s Good 03:15
10. My Baby Changes Like The Weather 02:49
11. Let Me Have Some 03:10
12. A Fork In The Road 03:25

Smokey Robinson, lead vocals
Ronnie White, Bobby Rogers, Warren “Pete” Moore, Claudette Robinson, background vocals
Marv Tarplin, guitars