Sly And The Family Stone – Live At The Fillmore East: October 4th & 5th, 1968 (2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Sly And The Family Stone – Live At The Fillmore East: October 4th & 5th, 1968 (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 03:28:04 minutes | 4,39 GB | Genre: R&B, Funk, Soul
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Epic Records
Recorded Live at the Fillmore East, NYC, October 4, 5, 1968

A four-disc set of previously unreleased live performances, featuring four energetic shows from the legendary New York venue.

“We were at the top of our game then,” Greg Errico, drummer of Sly & The Family Stone says of the group’s 1968 stand at New York’s infamous Fillmore East. “The band was just killing it. There were moments that made my hair stand up, where that stage lifted off like a 747 and flew.” The performance showcases a band both fully formed and on the cusp of greatness.

When Sly & the Family Stone seized Manhattan’s Fillmore East for a two-night, four-set stand in October 1968, the sonically and socially advanced band was just starting to cook. Earlier in the year, “Dance to the Music” became their first charting single, a Top 10 pop hit. They were pushing their third album, Life, so the repertoire was still rather limited. As detailed in this generous release’s liner notes, written by biographers Edwin and Arno Konings, the Epic label intended to assemble an album from these performances, but the plan was ditched once “Everyday People” — the first single from Stand!, still months away from hitting shelves — took flight and went to number one. That smash was issued only a month after the gigs, but the band didn’t preview it on-stage, at least not the way the sets are documented here. Live at the Fillmore East October 4th & 5th, 1968 contains a representation of all four sets. Each one must be at least close to complete, as they’re between 40 and 65 minutes in length, and contain some flubs and the working out of some technical issues. Despite playing roughly the same songs each set while knowing that they were being recorded, the band continually switched up the sequencing of the set lists — “M’Lady” was placed up front and saved toward the end, for instance — and the musicians played loose enough to allow for some spontaneity and variable interaction. The band’s vitality, as they continually stomped through material from all three albums, is no surprise. Material from the first album and “Dance to Music” are played with equal levels of conviction. Sly’s demeanor is consistently fervent and poised. The whole gang is at the top of their game. What’s truly revelatory is that each set featured a Sister Rosie Stone-fronted version of “Won’t Be Long,” a song popularized seven years earlier by Aretha Franklin and the Ray Bryant Combo. It wallops each time, particularly so on the first night’s early set. That a studio version wasn’t released is as baffling as the heretofore absence of a live album. As heard here, they were playing like indisputable giants, not like a band fighting for a second hit. The CD edition is especially nice — a fold-out cardboard package with sharp, true-to-the-era artwork for each disc. It tops the double-vinyl edition, a truncated and smart selection made by the Roots’ Captain Kirk Douglas, released months earlier for Record Store Day. -AllMusic Review by Andy Kellman


October 4, 1968 – Early Show
1. Are You Ready 04:57
2. Color Me True 04:54
3. Won’t Be Long 06:55
4. We Love All (Freedom) 08:24
5. Medley: Turn Me Loose / I Can’t Turn You Loose 05:14
6. Chicken 09:22
7. Love City 08:47

October 4, 1968 – Late Show
1. M’ Lady 05:12
2. Don’t Burn Baby 04:38
3. Color Me True 06:03
4. Won’t Be Long 06:41
5. St. James Infirmary 07:39
6. Medley: Turn Me Loose / I Can’t Turn You Loose 05:46
7. Are You Ready 05:45
8. Dance to the Music 05:11
9. Music Lover 08:07
10. Medley: Life / Music Lover 09:11

October 5, 1968 – Early Show
1. Life 03:05
2. Color Me True 06:03
3. Won’t Be Long 07:12
4. Are You Ready 06:20
5. Dance to the Music 05:24
6. Music Lover 06:18
7. M’ Lady 05:43

October 5, 1968 – Late Show
1. M’ Lady 05:23
2. Life 03:03
3. Are You Ready 07:59
4. Won’t Be Long 07:52
5. Color Me True 06:25
6. Dance to the Music 05:30
7. Music Lover 05:51
8. Love City 05:33
9. Medley: Turn Me Loose / I Can’t Turn You Loose 05:24
10. The Riffs 01:48

Sly Stone: vocals, organ, guitar, piano, harmonica, and more
Freddie Stone: vocals, guitar
Larry Graham: vocals, bass guitar
Rose Stone: vocals, piano, keyboards
Cynthia Robinson: trumpet, vocal ad-libs
Jerry Martini: saxophone
Greg Errico: drums
Little Sister (Vet Stone, Mary McCreary, Elva Mouton): backing vocals