Slow Meadow – Happy Occident (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Slow Meadow – Happy Occident (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 41:21 minutes | 358 MB | Genre: Modern Classical, Ambient, Electronic
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Hammock Music

Two years following 2017’s Costero, Slow Meadow returns with its third full-length album Happy Occident, a collection of textured ambient melodies. Fueled by the anxiety derivative of modern life and the frenetic and often uncertain state of these ever-changing times, Happy Occident provides music for reflection. A soundtrack to life’s contemplative moments, and an experience akin to mindfulness meditation.

“The album is like a waking dream of ideas strung together in a nonlinear fashion,” says Matt Kidd. “I have been thinking more about what it means to be ‘Happy’ in the Occident. Happiness is often nothing more than a false promise used to sell something, even ideas. I dwell on the utter failure of that word, especially in comparison to something like the Greek word ‘eudaimonia.’”

To complement the sound of Happy Occident, Slow Meadow enlisted the talents of violinist Ellen Story, whose playing, Kidd says, dictated much of the direction on a couple of tracks.


1. Stellarum Fixarum (04:51)
2. Artificial Algorithm (04:13)
3. The Future Belongs to Ghosts (03:52)
4. Pareidolia (03:57)
5. Blink (01:19)
6. Helium Life Jacket (03:51)
7. Drifting Phonetics (03:19)
8. We Can Only Love Through Suffering (03:59)
9. Liminal Animal (04:06)
10. Fake Magic Is Real (04:07)
11. Everything Is a Memory (03:52)