Sleepmakeswaves – Made Of Breath Only (2017) [Bandcamp FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Sleepmakeswaves – Made Of Breath Only (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 58:44 minutes | 735 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Bandcamp | Front Cover | © Bird’s Robe Records

Australian post-rock quartet sleepmakeswaves are gearing up to release their third album “Made of Breath Only”. Sleepmakeswaves utilise electronic textures as well as the usual symphony of guitars, drums and bass to elevate their elegant compositions to transcendental peaks.

Music is one of Australia’s most well-known exports especially hard rock/metal bands who have endured great success domestically and internationally. The new wave of hard rock/metal bands from Australia is now growing faster than ever with independent records labels such as Birds Robe Collective supporting up and coming to more well-known established bands that experiment in multiple genres from post-punk, shoegaze and progressive metal; even bands that are purely instrumental have become well established entities in the Australian live music scene. Sleepmakeswaves are the best example of an instrumental/progressive metal band that started playing underground D.I.Y venues and quickly became a well-recognised band in the music industry performing sold out shows in their hometown of Sydney, going on tour with Opeth, Karnivool and 65daysofstatic and being nominated for best hard rock/heavy metal album at the ARIA Awards (The Australian Recording Industry Association Awards). In their 10 years of existence Sleepmakeswaves have released a bunch of E.P’s and are about to release their 3rd studio album titled ‘Made of Breath Only’. It’s the 2nd time they have financed the recording through a crowdfunding campaign (the 1st was the previous album Love of Cartography) where the band achieved enough capital to finish the album thanks to their loyal fan base.

‘Made of Breath Only’ is pushing the band’s progressive metal roots even further this time, taking the listener to a dark world, with longer compositions, more intense technical moments and embracing shorter song structures punctuated by catchy riffs delivered in a very skillful manner. The concept of the album is trying to visualize Antarctic landscapes but don’t expect it to sound like water dripping from icebergs, it’s more like ice cracking wide open and crushing avalanches coming down the mountain at a devastating speed like on the song “Worlds Away”. There are also moments of beauty where the band experiments with electronic sound design incorporating organic instrumentation with synthetic soundscapes. This is very apparent on the intro to the album “Our Days Were Polar” and it’s also noticeable on a number of songs where the composition starts off with a bed of electronica and is then swamped by incendiary guitars that come blasting in, It quickly becomes evident that Sleepmakeswaves like to keep the listener guessing what they will do next.

01 – Our Days Were Polar
02 – Worlds Away
03 – To Light And / Then Return
04 – Tundra
05 – The Edge Of Everything
06 – Made Of Breath Only
07 – Into The Arms Of Ghosts
08 – Midnight Sun
09 – Glacial
10 – Hailstones