Slayer – South of Heaven (1988/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Slayer – South of Heaven (1988/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 36:56 minutes | 1,49 GB | Genre: Rock, Metal
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © American Recordings
Recorded: December 1987-February 1988, Hit City West, Los Angeles, California and Chung King, New York, New York

When it comes to death metal, no band is more convincing than Slayer. For other bands, focusing on death, Satanism, the supernatural, and the occult became a cliché; but Slayer’s controversial reflections on evil always came across as honest and heartfelt. The group’s sincerity is the thing that makes South of Heaven so disturbing and powerful — when the influential thrashers rip into such morbid fare as “Spill the Blood,” “Mandatory Suicide,” and “Ghosts of War,” they are frighteningly convincing. With their fourth album, Slayer began to slow their tempos without sacrificing an iota of heaviness or incorporating any pop elements. South of Heaven would be Slayer’s last album for Def Jam. When Rick Rubin and Russell Simmons (brother of Joseph “Run” Simmons of Run-D.M.C.) parted company, Slayer went to Rubin’s new company Def American, while LL Cool J, Slick Rick, and other rappers recorded for Simmons at Def Jam. -AllMusic Review by Alex Henderson

1. South Of Heaven 05:00
2. Silent Scream 03:05
3. Live Undead 03:50
4. Behind The Crooked Cross 03:14
5. Mandatory Suicide 04:07
6. Ghosts Of War 03:53
7. Read Between The Lies 03:20
8. Cleanse The Soul 03:02
9. Dissident Aggressor 02:35
10. Spill The Blood 04:50

Tom Araya – bass, lead vocals
Jeff Hanneman – lead and rhythm guitar
Kerry King – lead and rhythm guitar, backing vocals
Dave Lombardo – drums