Sir Simon Rattle & Berliner Phiharmoniker – Holst: The Planets (2006/2014) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Sir Simon Rattle & Berliner Phiharmoniker – Holst: The Planets (2006/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:24:28 minutes | 701 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Booklet, Front Cover | © Warner Classics

Is it chance or serendipity that Simon Rattle and the Berlin Philharmonic timed their new recording of Holst’s The Planets to coincide with the current astronomical upheaval? Though Holst learned of the discovery of Pluto four years before he died, it probably did not occur to him to add another movement, especially since the work’s last section, ‘Neptune, the Mystic,’ ends in an other-worldly, ethereal fade-out, enhanced by an off-stage wordless women’s chorus. He would have been surprised by the latest development in Pluto’s status, but undoubtedly pleased that his ultimately incomplete Suite- which had become more popular than he had expected or thought it deserved-had inspired another British composer, Colin Matthews, to write a successful companion piece, ‘Pluto, the Renewer,’ in 2000. Moreover, the Berlin Philharmonic added to Holst’s galaxy by commissioning four composers to write a movement each for a Suite called ‘Asteroids.’ This is its premiere recording.

Gustav Holst (1874-1934)
01. The Planets, Op. 32: I. Mars, the Bringer of War
02. The Planets, Op. 32: II. Venus, the Bringer of Peace
03. The Planets, Op. 32: III. Mercury, the Winged Messenger
04. The Planets, Op. 32: IV. Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity
05. The Planets, Op. 32: V. Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age
06. The Planets, Op. 32: VI. Uranus, the Magician
07. The Planets, Op. 32: VII. Neptune, the Mystic
08. Pluto, The Renewer
01. Asteroid 4179-Toutatis
02. Towards Osiris
03. Ceres
04. Komarov’s Fall

Rundfunkchor Berlin
Robin Gritton, Chorus master (for this production)
Simon Halsey, Chief conductor
Berliner Philharmonic Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle, conductor
Recorded at Philharmonie, Berlin 2006
Engineered by Mike Clements
Produced by Stephen Johns