Shirley Brown – Woman To Woman (1974/2011) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Shirley Brown – Woman To Woman (1974/2011) [Stax Remasters]
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 1:04:12 minutes | 2,24 GB | Genre: R&B
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | @ Stax Records

Shirley Brown’s 1974 debut album featured one of Stax’s all-time biggest hits, the Grammy-nominated, Gold selling single “Woman to Woman,” which sold a million copies during its first week of release. This high resolution reissue contains five bonus tracks by writers Carolyn Franklin, Otis Redding, Aretha Franklin, and Stevie Wonder.

Woman to Woman is Shirley Brown’s first album and finds the singer settling in nicely to a set of slow ballads, all soaked with an ache that the singer seems born to convey. The title track is the song most associated with the singer and one of the great love-triangle melodramas of the ’70s, sparking a series of answer songs, the best of which is Barbara Mason’s “From His Woman to You.” While not a song cycle like Millie Jackson’s Caught Up, which took the cheating subgenre to its extreme, Woman to Woman does create an insular feeling, wrapping the listener in a string of indirectly related emotional contexts. From the intimacy of “So Glad to Have You” to the more direct “Between You and Me” and all points between, Woman to Woman displays all the good and bad complexities that soul singers found at the dark end of the street.

01 – It Ain’t No Fun
02 – Long As You Love Me
03 – Stay With Me Baby
04 – I’ve Got To Go On Without You
05 – Woman To Woman
06 – So Glad To Have You
07 – Passion
08 – I Can’t Give You Up
09 – I Need You Tonight
10 – Between You And Me
11 – Yes Sir Brother (Bonus Track)
12 – Ain’t No Way (Bonus Track)
13 – Respect (Bonus Track)
14 – Rock Steady (Bonus Track)
15 – Signed, Sealed, Delivered (Bonus Track)