Shawn Mendes – Illuminate (2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Shawn Mendes – Illuminate (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 52:12 minutes | 582 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front cover | © Island Records

Illuminate is the second studio album by Canadian singer and songwriter Shawn Mendes. It was released on September 23, 2016, through Island Records and Universal Music Group. Musically, the album contains music genres pop, rock and blues. The album debuted atop the US Billboard 200 and the Canadian Albums Chart. It was preceded by the lead single “Treat You Better”, which reached the top 10 on the Billboard Hot 100. The album is supported by the Illuminate World Tour, which began in March 2017.

Shawn Mendes translated his Vine superstardom into genuine pop stardom in 2015 thanks to “Stitches,” a lively piece of pop with a slightly soulful undercurrent. Wisely, Mendes and his team decide to play off these soulful inclinations on Illuminate, the album released almost 18 months after his 2015 debut Handwritten. This isn’t to say that Mendes is a crooner, nor is he riding anything resembling a funky groove. Instead, Illuminate uses light R&B rhythms as a way to give a bit of grace and warmth, the airiness of “Ruin” and “Three Empty Words” spinning heartbreak into seduction. As it turns out, this wide-eyed puppy dog routine is the key to Mendes’ appeal. He’s not forceful, and whenever he slides into a loverman routine, there’s never a sense that he’s a player: his voice is so small and sweet, it feels as if he’s whispering sweet nothings to his high school sweetheart. On Handwritten, such quivering sensitivity seemed tentative, but on Illuminate, it has gelled into his pop persona; he’s charming because he embraces his ordinariness. Sometimes on Illuminate the songs are a bit too diffuse to benefit from these qualities — whenever they lack a hook or pronounced melody, the tracks tend to drift — but a lot of the record provides a good showcase for his tenderness. And these aren’t necessarily ballads, either. Certainly, he feels at home on a nice slow-burning torch number like “Don’t Be a Fool” — an old-fashioned slice of swaying ’60s soul — but on the insistent pop of “Treat You Better” and sunny seaside vibes of “Honest,” this boyishness is equally appealing, and those sly shifts in tone are why Mendes comes into his own on Illuminate. -AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 Ruin 04:02
2 Mercy 03:29
3 Treat You Better 03:08
4 Three Empty Words 03:19
5 Don’t Be A Fool 03:36
6 Like This 03:07
7 No Promises 02:46
8 Lights On 03:21
9 Honest 03:19
10 Patience 02:55
11 Bad Reputation 03:18
12 Understand 05:01
13 Hold On 03:20
14 Roses 03:52
15 Mercy (Acoustic) 03:39