Shawn Maxwell – Expectation and Experience (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Shawn Maxwell – Expectation and Experience (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 46:05 minutes | 870 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Jazzline

Seventeen compositions written during a global pandemic. Recorded remotely – thirty musicians, individually, most in their own homes. A lot happened during this year, personally, professionally, nationally, globally. This music represents my thoughts on and reactions to these events: 2020 in hindsight.

Chicago-based saxophone composer Shawn Maxwell did what many artists do to cope.

He created, reflecting an inner and outer world in turmoil, reaching for happiness and hope regardless, holding onto moments that distracted from, hyper-focused on, and despaired the consequences of this one life on this one lonely planet — buffeted relentlessly with the byproduct of technology, ego, and creature comforts.

Maxwell and his gifted contemporaries touch on death’s vast, unpredictable scepter, social and economic injustice (George Floyd and BLM), climate change, political warfare, and immense pain in 17 disjointed, beautiful, and wondrous original tracks under the instrumental jazz umbrella of Expectation & Experience.


1. Expectation (01:39)
2. J.C. Jones (03:10)
3. Empty Shelf (03:46)
4. Quiet House (04:10)
5. The Great Divide (03:35)
6. Feeling Remote (03:38)
7. Breathe (02:17)
8. A Change of Climate (01:06)
9. Alternative Facts (04:17)
10. Every Day Is Monday (01:42)
11. No Peace Without Justice (02:48)
12. The Show Can’t Go On (02:20)
13. Empty Stage (01:19)
14. Six Hundred (02:39)
15. Lockdown (03:00)
16. The New Abnormal (03:15)
17. Experience (01:24)