Shawn and The Wolf – Altas Horas (2018) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Shawn and The Wolf – Altas Horas (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:01:00 minutes | 1,12 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Chaos

Shawn and the Wolf are a unique and highly accessible jazz duo that combines trombone with guitar, two instruments seldom heard together. While their music is definitely rooted in a jazz sensibility, they take inspiration from a variety of genres, creating arrangements of tunes like The Beatles’ ‘Money Can’t Buy Me Love’ and Burt Bacharach’s ‘Close to You’. Their music bridges gaps between genres and invites listeners in to an intimate and friendly musical space. The big sound the duo creates – that can lead you to believe it’s more than trombone and guitar you’re hearing – is due in large part to Wolf’s technique. His playing incorporates bass and percussive sounds not normally associated with the guitar, and he also uses looping techniques to great effect. Together the duo creates music that is deeply infectious and full of life.

Trombonist, Shawn Grocott, has made Germany his home since 1995. He left his native Canada after receiving his Bachelor of Music Education Degree from the University of Regina, in his home-town. He continued his studies at the Hochschule für Musik in Detmold as well as at the Musikhochschule Lübeck where he received his Artist’s Diploma. Shawn’s musical tastes are widely varied which tends to take him in many different musical directions. Among his interests are: orchestral, big band, chamber, jazz and new music. In addition to performances with “Shawn and the Wolf”, he can also be heard playing with the brass ensemble „World Brass“, the brass quartet „Brass Unlimited“, and from time to time as a guest with the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Nord-West- Deutsche Philharmonie Herford and Landestheater Detmold, as well as other projects. Since October of 2009 he is also a trombone instructorat the Hochschule für Musik in Detmold and leads the Hochschul Big Band.

01 – Choral
02 – Altas Horas
03 – Can’t Buy Me Love
04 – Looking for Paula
05 – Overjoyed
06 – A Ra
07 – Stolen Moments
08 – Sweet Lucy
09 – Close to You
10 – Groove No. I
11 – Paule
12 – Lamento no morro
13 – The Happy Nun

Wolfgang Meyer – guitar
Shawn Grocott – trombone