Shakra – Snakes & Ladders (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Shakra – Snakes & Ladders (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 50:15 minutes | 631 MB | Genre: Hard Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source:Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © AFM Records

Shakra is a Swiss Hard Rock band founded in the late 1990s. “Snakes & Ladders” is the 11th Studio album, released less than 2 years have past since the last SHAKRA Album “High Noon”, that’s shows the come back of former singer Mark Fox. 12 brand new tracks from the Swiss Hard Rock Legends.

The haunting melodies, the distinctive voice of Mark Fox, the striking guitar riffs from Thomas Muster, the emotional solos from lead guitarist Thom Blunier and the irrestistible grooves from Drummer Roger Tanner and bass player Dominik Pfister are all typical SHAKRA trademarks, which can be found again on „Snakes & Ladders“.

The opener „Cassandra‘s Curse“, which lyrically is about the current world affairs, is a perfect example of all the trademarks mentioned above. Heavy riffs, an atmospheric verse and a powerful refrain.

The kickass rock song „Friday Nightmare“ is followed by the title track „Snakes & Ladders“. Up & down and the game’s going on. Sometimes you win, sometimes you fall. Sometimes everything just goes smoothly, but there are times when you gotta try again and again to reach your goal. Just roll the dice – at some point you will be where you wanna be! „Together with ‚Cassandra’s Curse‘, ‚Something You Don’t Understand‘ is one of the best songs I’ve ever written“, says a very proud Thomas Muster. The song is a great 80s inspired powerballad with an enthralling melodie and simple grooves that will stick in your head for sure.

01 – Cassandra’s Curse
02 – Friday Nightmare
03 – Snakes & Ladders
04 – Something You Don’t Understand
05 – The Seeds
06 – Rollin’
07 – Medicine Man
08 – I Will Rise Again
09 – Open Water
10 – The Race of My Life
11 – Fire in My Veins
12 – The End of Days

Produced, recorded, engineered, edited and mixed by Thom Blunier between April and July 2017 at PowerRide Recording Studios, Trub, Switzerland.
Mastered by Dan Suter at Echochamber, Zürich, Switzerland.

Line up:
Mark Fox – Vocals
Thom Blunier – Lead Guitar
Thomas Muster – Rhythm Guitar
Dominik Pfister – Bass
Roger Tanner – Drums