Seth MacFarlane, Liz Gillies – Songs From Home (2021) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Seth MacFarlane, Liz Gillies – Songs From Home (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/48kHz | Time – 31:50 minutes | 383 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Verve Label Group

Liz Gillies and Seth MacFarlane have put together quite possibly the strangest musical duo, giving us a throwback right to the swinging fifties with their newest single: Ain’t We Got Fun. MacFarlane has already established himself as a strong and confident voice in the world of modern swing, but Liz Gillies was certainly a welcome surprise.

A lot of people, and especially young adults of this generation know the singer as the rebellious teen Jade West in Nickelodeon’s Victorious, and to see her tackle a project like this was unexpected to say the least. Vocal jazz has been an art only kept alive by a very small selection of artists, such as Michael Bubl’e, Tony Bennett, and MacFarlane himself. The Family Guy creator is an embodiment of Sinatra himself – the swagger, the charm, and the tone are all present in this record. His presence in this record gives so much life to the sound already beautifully crafted by the band, but it’s really Seth that brings you back to a time of old as soon as he starts singing.

Liz does a wonderful job as well, though her performance maybe pales a bit in comparison to the jazz veteran, but her voice’s contrast with MacFarlane make for a wonderful duet that both feels vintage and true. Their banter between the melodious phrases give all the more charm to this tune – you can almost hear them smile recording this record, and I believe that that’s the point of this record. Traditional pop in this style is fun and snappy, and that’s exactly what this song manages to send out to its listeners.

1. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – It’s A Good Day
2. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – Ain’t We Got Fun?
3. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – Calcutta
4. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – Drinking Again
5. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – Come To The Mardi Gras
6. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – Better Than A Dream
7. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – It Doesn’t Cost A Dime To Dream
8. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – This Could Be The Start Of Something Big
9. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – That Holiday Feeling
10. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – Happy Holiday
11. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – Peachtree Street
12. Liz Gillies;Seth MacFarlane – Cozy