Sepultura – Quadra (2020) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Sepultura – Quadra (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 51:14 minutes | 665 MB | Genre: Metal
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Nuclear Blast

It goes without saying that the global metal scene would not be the same without Sepultura. For 35 years now, the Brazilian icons are not only a band revered worldwide; they have been, are and forever will be at the very forefront of thrash metal, trailblazing ever since they released their long-since legendary debut album Morbid Visions in 1986. While quickly establishing themselves as leaders of the second wave of thrash already in the late eighties, to this day they never came even close to stagnation. Quadra, their mighty new undertaking, is proof of a will unbroken, a thirst unquenched and a quality so staggeringly high it’s a wonder this band doesn’t implode. Now, three albums deep into what may very well be their strongest incarnation yet – uniting the talents of old-school members Andreas Kisser (guitars, vocals) and Paulo Xisto Pinto Jr. (bass), vocal force of nature Derrick Leon Green (vocals) and drummer Eloy Casagrande – Sepultura is an unleashed power to be reckoned with, uniting bucketloads of experience and youthful vigour in a totally revived way.

By its very fast and loud nature thrash metal can be numbingly repetitive, its archaic anger and endless aggression pointless and overly familiar. And yet the exceptions can be glorious, none more potent or listenable than Sepultura. Having lost none of their trademark power and volume, this quartet’s music has grown and aged well over the past 35 years thanks to a keen awareness of not repeating themselves—an extraordinarily difficult feat in the genre—with an inventive devotion to detail. While the song titles like, “Fear Pain Chaos Suffering” and angry lyrics infused with demons and urgency connect to the band’s storied past, nearly every tune of this 12 track set has an unexpected musical flourish: the violins on the mighty first single, “Isolation”; a whispered soft section in “Autem”; the Brazilian drums that open “Capital Enslavement”; the opening flamenco-flavored acoustic guitars and vocal choirs of “Guardians of the Earth.” This a brotherhood always looking for ways to stretch and grow their music beyond the confining bounds of the genre. The recording ethos here—a razor-edged, towering wall-of-amplification—has some surprisingly varied dynamics. The key to the band’s continued intensity on Quadra comes from Derrick Green, whose raw roar has become the band’s most identifiable sonic signature since replacing original vocalist Max Cavalera in 1997, and drummer Eloy Casagrande, who despite being the shortest tenured and youngest member, has also become a dynamic force as co-writer with guitarist Andreas Kisser. Given their exertions, thrash metal drummers are Olympic athletes and no one deserves a gold more than Casagrande. Fame, money, respect: Sepultura have it all. And yet happily their ambition and hunger remain. – Robert Baird


01. Isolation
02. Means to an End
03. Last Time
04. Capital Enslavement
05. Ali
06. Raging Void
07. Guardians of Earth
08. The Pentagram
09. Autem
10. Quadra
11. Agony of Defeat
12. Fear, Pain, Chaos, Suffering