Sean McConnell – A Horrible Beautiful Dream (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Sean McConnell – A Horrible Beautiful Dream (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 52:11 minutes | 1 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sean McConnell

While some artists were understandably struggling to stay creative during the turmoil of the past 18 months, that definitely was not the case for Nashville-based Sean McConnell. The Grammy-nominated singer, songwriter and producer not only produced records for four other artists out of his studio during this period but worked on a new album of his own, ” A Horrible Beautiful Dream” , which is due for release on 6th August via Soundly Records .

As he explains with regard to the slowdown brought about by the events of 2020, “Time seems to breed creativity, especially when there’s very little else going on. This period has forced everybody, internally and externally, globally and socially, to take a good look at our lives and examine it. Everything from our marriages to our workout routines, social injustice to planet politics and religion, spirituality and our internal environment… everything has come to the surface,” McConnell notes. “It’s been the tipping point of so many things right now, so obviously that bleeds over into art and music.”.Consequently on this upcoming release Sean explores such topics and examines both the frailty and strength of the human spirit throughout the 13 tracks, 11 of which are self-penned and the remaining 2 co-writes.

But while he used the chaotic time in which it was made as his point of reference the album he has given us still manages to be timeless with a much wider relevance. Its title is taken from lyrics contained in the closing track, ” Remember You’re Here”, a song delivered with an almost prayer-like vocal fragility over the simplest of acoustic guitar accompaniments and in which Sean urges the listener to be grateful for small mercies and put the craziness of the world into perspective. Although the majority of the tracks were written during the past year or so, he has also included a couple from his back catalogue which until now hadn’t been a ” fit” on projects……he released the first of his many albums/EPs back in 2000 and has written for artists including Christina Aguilera, Brett Young ( including his double-platinum hit ” Mercy” ), Tim McGraw, Brothers Osborne and Little Big Town.

1. Sean McConnell – I Still Believe in You
2. Sean McConnell – Price of Love
3. Sean McConnell – The 13th Apostle
4. Sean McConnell – Nothing Anymore
5. Sean McConnell – The Wonder Years
6. Sean McConnell – What the Hell is Wrong with Me
7. Sean McConnell – Waiting to Be Moved
8. Sean McConnell – I Built You Up
9. Sean McConnell – Used to Think I Knew
10. Sean McConnell – Leave the Light On
11. Sean McConnell – Getting Somewhere
12. Sean McConnell – As the Curtain Came Down
13. Sean McConnell – Remember You’re Here