Sarah Vaughan Sings George Gershwin (1957/2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Sarah Vaughan – Sarah Vaughan Sings George Gershwin (1957/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 1:15:13 minutes | 2,78 GB | Genre: Classical, Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Verve Records

Originally recorded in 1957, this album of George Gershwin songs interpreted by Sarah Vaughan and Hal Mooney features the track listing of the original double LP release.

A lush and opulent effort, this album finds the compositions of George Gershwin performed by Sarah Vaughan backed by a studio orchestra arranged and conducted by Hal Mooney. Hal takes most of the standards as ballads, giving The Divine One plenty of space to stretch out and bend Gershwin’s notes to her heart’s content. Of course, Sarah does so tastefully and her embellishments accentuate the romantic lyrics on these classics (check out the opening number Isn’t It A Pity for a prime example) instead of butchering the message of the song. On I Won’t Say I Will, Sarah gets to show off her sassy side by controlling her vibrato and playing the coy ingénue with ease; while My Man’s Gone Now gives The Divine One the chance to show off her operatic chops. Though swingers like Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off and Lorelei are brief, they provide short exuberant breaks between the many luxurious ballads on the album. Highly recommended for any Sarah Vaughan fan or Gershwin lover.

01 – Isn’t It A Pity?
02 – Of Thee I Sing (Master Take)
03 – I’ll Build A Stairway To Paradise
04 – Someone To Watch Over Me
05 – Bidin My Time
06 – The Man I Love
07 – How Long Has This Been Going On?
08 – My One And Only (What Am I Gonna Do?)
09 – Lorelei
10 – I’ve Got A Crush On You
11 – Summertime
12 – Aren’t You Kinda Glad We Did?
13 – They All Laughed
14 – Looking For A Boy
15 – He Loves And She Loves
16 – My Man’s Gone Now
17 – I Won’t Say I Will But I Won’t Say I Won’t
18 – A Foggy Day
19 – Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off
20 – Things Are Looking Up
21 – Do It Again
22 – Love Walked In

Arranged & Conducted by Hal Mooney.
Recorded on March 20, 1957 – April 25, 1957 in New York.