Sarah McLachlan – Shine On (Deluxe Edition) (2014) [HDTracks 24bit/44,1kHz]

Sarah McLachlan – Shine On (2014) [Deluxe Edition] 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1kHz | Time – 46:50 minutes | 546 MB | Genre: Pop
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | @ Verve Music ,a Division of UMG Recordings, Inc.

Three Time Grammy Winner and legendary singer songwriter makes her Verve debut with her eighth studio album, Shine On. Sarah has sold over 40 million albums in her career and is one of the most respected female artists in music today.

The new album was recorded in Vancouver with longtime collaborator/producer Pierre Marchand (the co-writer of hits like “Adia” and “Building a Mystery”), along with contributions from producer/songwriter Bob Rock (Michael Bublé, Nelly Furtado) and keyboardist Vincent Jones.

In a press release, McLachlan revealed that the album was inspired by her father’s passing and her own appreciation of life: “This album is about moving through the second half of my life in a more mindful and meaningful way, recognizing that every day, every moment is precious and though we all have our issues and problems, our damages, we all have the ability to continue to learn, grow from our experiences, thrive and shine on. Many of the songs are inspired at least partially or wholly by my father’s passing three years ago and the profound effect losing him had on me. I had to find my footing again without the anchor of his unconditional love.”

Shine On captures Sarah McLachlan at a period of transition, switching labels (she’s signed with Verve after decades at Arista) and experiencing the death of her father and divorce from her husband. Some of this turbulence can be heard underneath the surface of Shine On — explicitly so on “Song for My Father” and “Broken Heart,” whose titles give their game away — but the defining characteristic of this seventh McLachlan studio album is not despair but rather hope. Certainly, there is melancholy here — a feeling that surfaces in the slower, gentler moments, the kind of sound that is heavily associated with McLachlan’s mid-’90s hits — but there’s also a surprising, resilient buoyancy here, manifesting itself in big, ringing adult alternative pop tunes that pepper the album. Surrounding these songs — the best of which are “In Your Shoes” and “Monsters” — are those signature McLachlan swoons, the surprisingly soulful “Love Beside Me” and an effective, swinging coda called “The Sound That Love Makes” that’s built on a simple ukulele but soon expands. Shine On, as a whole, has a similar trajectory; it starts from simple, sad emotions, then builds out into an embrace of love and life.

01 – In Your Shoes
02 – Flesh And Blood
03 – Monsters
04 – Broken Heart
05 – Surrender And Certainty
06 – Song For My Father
07 – Turn The Lights Down Low
08 – Love Beside Me
09 – Brink Of Destruction
10 – Beautiful Girl
11 – The Sound That Love Makes
12 – What’s It Gonna Take
13 – Little B


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.