Sam Hunt – Southside (2020) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Sam Hunt – Southside (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 39:01 minutes | 477 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © MCA Nashville

Second album from Pop Country crossover R&B megastar Sam Hunt. Dubbed the “Drake of country”, the album further pushes the boundaries of what country is, mixing R&B and contemporary pop production with classic country to create something entirely fresh and exciting. Following the success of Hunt’s debut album Montevallo, released in 2014, Hunt sporadically released several singles while delaying his second studio album. In the years between, he released the massive hits Body Like A Back Road and Drinkin’ Too Much, both included here.

It’s taken six years for Sam Hunt to release the follow-up to his smash debut Montevallo but the songs here are awfully familiar: “Body Like a Back Road” was a chart-topper in 2017; “Downtown’s Dead” hit it big in 2018; “Kinfolks” soared to No. 1 last year. Southside is practically a greatest-hits compilation. It’s interesting listening to “Drinkin’ Too Much” — an apology to his now-wife for bad behavior and originally released in 2017 — with 20/20 hindsight. Hunt was arrested on a DUI last year, which shines a search light on spoken-word lyrics like “And I was the one on stage, drunk / Barely holdin’ on, on ABC.” Hunt strips things even more bare on opener “2016”, dropping his signature hip-hop flavored formula for classic regrets balladry. As for the slow jams, “Sinning With You” questions Hunt’s religious upbringing, and “Breaking Up Was Easy in the 90s” laments how social media fuels heartbreak. It’s not all heavy as a sledgehammer, though: “Hard To Forget” mashes up a Webb Pierce sample with a Kenny Chesney-esque beach-bum beat to a damn catchy result. – Shelly Ridenour

1. 2016 (03:55)
2. Hard to Forget (03:24)
3. Kinfolks (03:01)
4. Young Once (03:05)
5. Body Like a Back Road (02:42)
6. That Ain’t Beautiful (02:44)
7. Let It Down (02:50)
8. Downtown’s Dead (03:33)
9. Nothing Lasts Forever (03:04)
10. Sinning with You (03:16)
11. Breaking Up Was Easy in the 90’s (03:35)
12. Drinkin’ Too Much (03:52)