Saga – Heads or Tales (Remastered) (1983/2021) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Saga – Heads or Tales (Remastered) (1983/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/48kHz | Time – 47:37 minutes | 617 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © earMUSIC

“Heads or Tales” is the fifth studio album by the Canadian progressive rock band Saga and was originally released in 1983. The album was the second of the band’s to be produced by Rupert Hine. Although it did not receive the commercial success of the previous collaboration between the band and Hine, both “The Flyer” and “Cat Walk” became respectable radio hits for the band with the album eventually securing gold status in Canada (50,000) and Germany (250,000). A third single from the album, “Scratching the Surface”, making a regular appearance in the band’s concert line-up during the late-1990s and 2000s as a piano solo played by singer Jim Gilmour during a break by the other band members. The song reached #45 in the Canadian Singles charts, April 1984.

“While Saga began as a progressive rock band, increasing pop sensibilities put the group in a league with bands like the Fixx in the early ’80s. This album, which follows the excellent Worlds Apart, is nearly as good as its predecessor; Michael Sadler’s commanding voice leads the way while the rest of the band punches up the fairly succinctly written songs with loads of texture and occasional instrumental fireworks. The guitar/keyboard interplay between Jim Gilmour and Ian Crichton alone is enough to get music geeks salivating. Producer Rupert Hine gives the material just enough production sheen to make it sizzle on the airwaves (“The Flyer” was a minor radio hit). Equally enjoyable for pop fans and prog rock fans, this unfortunately was Saga’s last great record.” (Andy Hinds, AMG)

1. The Flyer (03:42)
2. Cat Walk (04:24)
3. The Sound of Strangers (04:08)
4. The Writing (04:13)
5. Intermission (05:28)
6. Social Orphan (03:23)
7. The Vendetta (Still Helpless) (03:43)
8. Scratching the Surface (05:15)
9. The Pitchman (05:42)
10. Cat Walk (Unabridged) (07:44)