Ryan Adams – Wednesdays (2020) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Ryan Adams – Wednesdays (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 42:27 minutes | 457 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © PaxAm Recording Company

Wednesdays is the seventeenth studio album by American singer-songwriter Ryan Adams. Originally slated for release in 2019, it was delayed following abuse allegations against Adams. It was eventually surprise-released on December 11, 2020 through Adams’s label PAX AM.

In January 2019, Ryan Adams announced the imminent release of three new albums and even gave away the title of the first two: Big Colors and Wednesdays. The following month, caught in the turmoil of accusations by several women (including Phoebe Bridgers) of inappropriate behaviour and sexual harassment, he changed his plans, preferring to wait for the media storm to pass. Finally, a few days before Christmas 2020, Adams released Wednesdays… after surprising everyone in 2015 by revisiting Taylor Swift’s 1989, the ex-Whiskeytowner would address, two years later, his divorce from Mandy Moore in the touching Prisoner. He has always excelled here: pure and hard introspection with doubts, sorrows, joys and the full range of existential hardware. If Prisoner navigates the waters of a classicism inherited from Tom Petty and Bruce Springsteen, Wednesdays looks instead towards Neil Young. The beautiful and austere cover of a magnificent painting of La gare du Nord in 1908 by the Dutch impressionist painter Siebe Johannes ten Cate introduces the grey, tormented tone of the record. The explicit opening shot, I’m Sorry and I Love You – very Young-esque in its form – confirms the songwriter’s emotional fragility. Obviously, Ryan Adams is following what he hopes is a path to redemption. That’s an impression which is only heightened by a few whiffs of gospel intruding here and there in this very refined country-folk world of beautiful workmanship. So much so that, we can say that some of the songs on Wednesdays are among his most inspired and, simply, his most beautiful… – Marc Zisman

1. I’m Sorry And I Love You (03:34)
2. Who Is Going To Love Me Now, If Not You (03:31)
3. When You Cross Over (04:19)
4. Walk In The Dark (04:11)
5. Poison & Pain (03:09)
6. Wednesdays (05:25)
7. Birmingham (03:11)
8. So, Anyways (03:46)
9. Mamma (04:23)
10. Lost In Time (03:54)
11. Dreaming You Backwards (03:04)