Rush – Rush (1974/2015) [40th Anniversary] [HDTracks 24bit/192kHz]

Rush – Rush – 40th Anniversary (1974/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz | Time – 40:21 minutes | 1,34 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Mercury Records
Recorded: Early-1973 (beginning of the sessions) and November 1973 (ending of the sessions) at Eastern Sound Studios, Toronto, Canada

Rush was released in March of 1974 and is the first studio album by Canadian rock band Rush. It was produced by the band and was well-received upon its release. It peaked at #105 on the US Billboard 200 chart and has been certified Gold by both the RIAA and CRIA.


The album that started it all. Original drummer John Rutsey performed all drum parts on the album. The recording sessions were produced by Dave Stock at Eastern Sound in Toronto, recorded late at night because the studio rates were the cheapest (they recorded the album on their own dime). The band was unhappy with the quality of the first sessions, so they moved to Toronto Sound Studios and produced the next sessions themselves to get a better sound.

“The first stab at the album was done in eight hours following a gig. We were warmed up after the show, and it came very easy. Then it was recut in November in about three days, including mixing time. We were lucky in that most of the songs came in two or three takes.” – Alex Lifeson, 1974

Rather than sign with an existing label, Rush created their own, Moon Records, and pressed a few thousand copies. Cleveland DJ Donna Halper at WMMS was instrumental in making “Working Man” a cult hit and helped bring the band to the attention of Mercury Records.

Rush’s self-titled debut is about as uncharacteristic of their renowned heavy progressive rock (perfected on such future releases as Hemispheres, Moving Pictures, etc.) as you can get. Instead of complex arrangements and thoughtful lyrics, Rush sounds almost identical to Led Zeppelin throughout — bluesy riffs merged with “baby, baby” lyrics. The main reason for the album’s different sound and direction is that their lyricist/drummer, Neil Peart, was not in the band yet, skinsman John Rutsey rounds out the original line-up, also consisting of Geddy Lee (bass/vocals) and Alex Lifeson (guitar). It’s nearly impossible to hear the anthemic “Finding My Way” and not picture Robert Plant shrieking away, or Jimmy Page riffing on the jamfest “Working Man,” but Rush was still in their formative stages. There’s no denying that Lee and Lifeson were already strong instrumentalists, but such predictable compositions as “In the Mood” and “What You’re Doing” prove that Peart was undoubtedly the missing piece to the puzzle. While longtime Rush fans can appreciate their debut because they never returned to this style, newcomers should stick with their classics from later years. -Greg Prato

1. Finding My Way 05:08
2. Need Some Love 02:21
3. Take A Friend 04:28
4. Here Again 07:36
5. What You’re Doing 04:24
6. In The Mood 03:37
7. Before And After 05:37
8. Working Man 07:10

Geddy Lee – Lead Vocals & Bass
Alex Lifeson – Guitars & Vocals
John Rutsey – Drums & Vocals


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.