Rush – 2112 (1976/2015) [40th Anniversary] [HDTracks 24bit/192kHz]

Rush – 2112 (1976/2015) [40th Anniversary]
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz  | Time – 38:56 minutes | 1.04 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Mercury Records
Recorded: February 1976 at Toronto Sound Studios in Toronto

The band’s label didn’t want Rush to do another “concept” album. The band ignored this advice and went on to record their first major commercial success and a signature record, which enabled them to chart their own course moving forward. Writing the material took about six months, and the album, recorded at Toronto Sound with Terry Brown, required about a month in the studio to finish.

“We don’t want to change what people think about rock & roll, we just want to show them what we think about it.” – Alex Lifeson, 1976

Influenced by the writings of Ayn Rand, the album features the side-long title suite. Based in the future, a galaxy-wide war results in the union of all planets under the rule of the Red Star of the Solar Federation. By 2112, the world is controlled by the “Priests of the Temples of Syrinx,” who determine the content of all reading matter, songs, pictures — every facet of life.

“We’ve got a big future ahead of us.” – Geddy Lee, 1976

Most fans consider 2112 the band’s definitive album. Certified triple-platinum, 2112 is #2 onRolling Stone’s ‘Your Favorite Prog Rock Albums of All Time’. This newly-remastered edition was remastered at Abbey Road from original analogue masters

Whereas Rush’s first two releases, their self-titled debut and Fly by Night, helped create a buzz among hard rock fans worldwide, the more progressive third release, Caress of Steel, confused many of their supporters. Rush knew it was now or never with their fourth release, and they delivered just in time — 1976’s 2112 proved to be their much sought-after commercial breakthrough and remains one of their most popular albums. Instead of choosing between prog rock and heavy rock, both styles are merged together to create an interesting and original approach. The entire first side is comprised of the classic title track, which paints a chilling picture of a future world where technology is in control (Peart’s lyrics for the piece being influenced by Ayn Rand). Comprised of seven “sections,” the track proved that the trio members were fast becoming rock’s most accomplished instrumentalists. The second side contains shorter selections, such as the Middle Eastern-flavored “A Passage to Bangkok” and the album-closing rocker “Something for Nothing.” 2112 is widely considered by Rush fans as their first true “classic” album, the first in a string of similarly high-quality albums. -Greg Prato

1 2112: Overture – The Temples Of Syrinx – Discovery –
– Presentation – Oracle – Soliloquy – Grand Finale (Medley) 20:35
2 A Passage To Bangkok 03:35
3 The Twilight Zone 03:19
4 Lessons 03:53
5 Tears 03:34
6 Something For Nothing 04:00

Geddy Lee – lead vocals, bass guitar, keyboards
Alex Lifeson – electric and acoustic guitar
Neil Peart – drums, percussion


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.