Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Vasily Petrenko – Tchaikovsky: Symphonies Nos. 1, 2 & 5 (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Symphonies Nos. 1, 2 & 5 – Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Vasily Petrenko (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:57:51 minutes | 2,04 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Onyx Classics
Recorded: Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, 15 & 16 November 2014 (No.5), 23 & 24 November 2014 (No.1), 15 May 2015 (No.2)

The eagerly awaited Tchaikovsky Symphony cycle from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Vasily Petrenko gets underway with Symphonies 1, 2 & 5. In 2015 The Tchaikovsky Album with Petrenko and the RLPO, released to coincide with the orchestra’s 175 anniversary, became one of the best-selling classical CDs in the UK and met with fulsome praise from reviewers. Volume I of the Symphonies looks set to replicate that success and indeed critical acclaim.

The first volume of a survey of Pyotr Il’yich Tchaikovsky’s symphonies, this two-fer from Onyx presents the Symphony No. 1 in G minor, “Winter Dreams,” the Symphony No. 2 in C minor, “Little Russian,” and the Symphony No. 5 in E minor, in thrilling performances by Vasily Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. This package follows their 2015 release of The Tchaikovsky Album on the Classic FM label, and noting their 2014 release of Tchaikovsky’s first two piano concertos on Onyx, it appears that they have made a special commitment to the composer. This is an auspicious beginning for a Tchaikovsky cycle, with atmospheric and expressive interpretations that Petrenko makes his own, and the vibrant and passionate playing of the Liverpool musicians is convincingly Russian in its rich sonorities and weighty emotional depth. Even though the first two symphonies are less familiar to listeners than the Symphony No. 5, which is one of the most popular works in the repertoire, they are just as rewarding and exciting in these spontaneous performances, and Petrenko adds a fiery intensity that is seldom heard in the early works. This series warrants serious attention, and admirers of Petrenko will want to hear all of these superb recordings. -AllMusic Review by Blair Sanderson

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Symphony No.1 in G minor ‘Winter Dreams’ op.13
1. I Allegro tranquillo 10.42
2. II Adagio cantabile ma non tanto 10.39
3. III Scherzo (Allegro scherzando giocoso) 7.21
4. IV Finale (Andante lugubre – Allegro moderato – Allegro maestoso – Allegro vivo) 12.22
Symphony No.2 in C minor ‘Little Russian’ op.17
5. I Andante sostenuto – Allegro vivo 10.29
6. II Andantino marziale, quasi moderato 7.32
7. III Scherzo (Allegro molto vivace) & Trio 5.04
8. IV Finale (Moderato assai – Allegro vivo – Presto) 9.53
Symphony No.5 in E minor op.64
9. I Andante – Allegro con anima 13.58
10. II Andante cantabile, con alcuna licenza 12.32
11. III Valse (Allegro moderato) 5.41
12. IV Finale (Andante maestoso – Allegro vivace) 11.38

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko, conductor