Rolando Villazon, Ildar Abdrazakov, Orchestre Metropolitain de Montreal & Yannick Nezet-Seguin – Duets (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Rolando Villazón, Ildar Abdrazakov, Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal & Yannick Nézet-Séguin – Duets (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:01:17 minutes | 1,01 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

Three exceptional artists join forces for an operatic treat! Star tenor Rolando Villazón, who was just named artistic director of Salzburg Mozart week, Ildar Abdrazakov, one of the most sought-after young basses in the operatic world (Vanity Fair), who is debuting on Deutsche Grammophon with this album and the in-coming music director of the Metropolitan Opera Yannick Nézet-Séguin – a conductor full of vim and vigor – with Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal.

Following Rolando’s and Yannick’s latest successful collaboration in DG’s Mozart opera cycle (Le Nozze di Figaro), this recording includes a wide range of beautiful French/Italian duets for tenor and bass presented with dedication and passion!

Rolando and Ildar go back to 2009 when they first performed together in a production of “Lucia di Lammermoor” at the Met. They re-unite to sing a colorful variety of beautiful opera duets from nineteenth century drammi giocosi and opéras comiques, such as the beloved “Au fond du temple saint” from Les pêcheurs de perles (Bizet) or “Ah, quando fia… Se inclinassi a prender moglie” from L’italiana in Algeri (Rossini) as well as the duet “Je suis Escamillo” from Bizet’s famous opera Carmen.

Besides the renowned repertoire the artists also recorded two tracks with special arrangements referring to their personal life: the legendary Granada, standing for Rolando’s Latin heritage, Ochi Chernye as a tribute to Ildar’s home country Russia.


01. Bizet: Les pêcheurs de perles, WD 13 / Act 1-“C’était le soir” … “Au fond du temple saint”
02. Boïto: Mefistofele / Act 1-“Son lo spirito che nega”
03. Boïto: Mefistofele / Act 1-“Strano figlio del caos”
04. Donizetti: Don Pasquale / Act 1-“La vostra ostinazione” … “Prender moglie?”
05. Donizetti: Don Pasquale / Act 1-“Sogno soave e casto mi fa il destin mendico”
06. Donizetti: L’elisir d’amore / Act 1-“Ardir! Ha forse il cielo”
07. Donizetti: L’elisir d’amore / Act 1-“Voglio dire”
08. Verdi: Simon Boccanegra / Act 1-“Propizio a giunge!”
09. Verdi: Simon Boccanegra / Act 1-“Vieni a me, ti benedico”
10. Gounod: Faust, CG 4 / Act 1-“Mais ce Dieu”
11. Gounod: Faust, CG 4 / Act 1-“Me voici-d’où vient ta surprise!”
12. Bizet: Carmen, WD 31 / Act 3-“Je suis Escamillo”
13. Lara: Granada (Arr. By Julian Reynolds)
14. Hermann: Ochi Chernye (Arr. By Julian Reynolds)

Rolando Villazon, tenor
Ildar Abdrazakov, bass
Orchestre Metropolitain de Mont