Roberta Flack – Quiet Fire (50th Anniversary Edition) (2021 Remaster) (1971/2021) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Roberta Flack – Quiet Fire (50th Anniversary Edition) (2021 Remaster) (1971/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:26:31 minutes | 2,84 GB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Rhino Atlantic

Quiet Fire is the third studio album by American singer-songwriter Roberta Flack, released in November 1971 by Atlantic Records. It was recorded at Atlantic Recording Studios, Regent Studios, and The Hit Factory in New York City. The album peaked at number 18 on the Billboard Top LPs & Tape, and its single “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow” charted at number 76 on the Hot 100.

Quiet Fire proves to be an apt title, as Flack’s MOR-informed jazz and gospel vocals simmer just below the surface on the eight sides here. Forgoing the full-throttled delivery of, say, Aretha Franklin, Flack translates the pathos of gospel expression into measured intensity and sighing, elongated phrases. There’s even a bit of Carole King’s ashen tone in Flack’s voice, as manifested on songs like “Let Them Talk,” Van McCoy’s “Sweet Bitter Love,” and a meditative reworking of King’s “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow.” The album’s other high-profile cover, “Bridge Over Troubled Waters,” features the ideal setting for Flack’s airy pipes with a tasteful backdrop of strings and a chorus featuring soul songstress Cissy Houston (Whitney’s mom). Switching from this hushed sanctity, Flack digs into some groove-heavy southern soul on “Go Up Moses,” “Sunday and Sister Jones,” and an amazing version of the Bee Gees hit “To Love Somebody” (this perennial number has been done by everyone from Rita Marley to Hank Williams, Jr.). Flack finally completes the modern triumvirate of southern music, adding the country tones of Jimmy Webb’s “See You Then” to the Quiet Fire’s stock of gospel and soul. And thanks to top players like guitarist Hugh McCracken, organist Richard Tee, bassist Chuck Rainey, and drummer Bernard Purdie, the varied mix all comes off sounding seamless. One of Flack’s best. – Stephen Cook


01. Roberta Flack – Go Up Moses (2021 Remaster)
02. Roberta Flack – Bridge Over Troubled Water (2021 Remaster)
03. Roberta Flack – Sunday and Sister Jones (2021 Remaster)
04. Roberta Flack – See You Then (2021 Remaster)
05. Roberta Flack – Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow (2021 Remaster)
06. Roberta Flack – To Love Somebody (2021 Remaster)
07. Roberta Flack – Let Them Talk (2021 Remaster)
08. Roberta Flack – Sweet Bitter Love (2021 Remaster)
09. Roberta Flack – What’s Going On (2021 Remaster)
10. Roberta Flack – Free at Last (2021 Remaster)
11. Roberta Flack – Chasin’ the Sunshine (2021 Remaster)
12. Roberta Flack – Here, There and Everywhere (2021 Remaster)
13. Roberta Flack – O-o-h Child (2021 Remaster)
14. Roberta Flack – With These Hands (2021 Remaster)
15. Roberta Flack – Superstar (2021 Remaster)