Rob Thomas – Chip Tooth Smile (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Rob Thomas – Chip Tooth Smile (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 39:34 minutes | 471 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Atlantic Records

Chip Tooth Smile is the upcoming fourth studio album by American singer Rob Thomas, scheduled to be released on April 26, 2019, through Atlantic Records. It is his first album in four years, following 2015’s The Great Unknown, and was preceded by the single “One Less Day (Dying Young)”, which reached the top 30 at adult contemporary radio in the United States. Thomas will tour North America in support of the album from May 2019.

The album is produced by Butch Walker and was shaped by Thomas’ 1980s influences as well as “the pop-rock songs for which he’s become so well-known.” Thomas stated that while making the album, he was doing so for his primarily for fans and not to necessarily draw in those who had not previously heard his music.

Rob Thomas opens up Chip Tooth Smile, his fourth solo album, by singing “I’m not afraid of getting older/I’m one less day from dying young.” It’s not a common sentiment for pop stars, but Rob Thomas isn’t a common pop star. Despite the slick reputation he acquired with “Smooth,” his blockbuster collaboration with Santana, Thomas has often been concerned with troubling concerns. His gift has been disguising these disquieting moments in a shiny package, usually produced by Matt Serletic. While Thomas continues on this path on Chip Tooth Smile, he parts ways with Serletic for the first time in his 20-year career, opting to work with Butch Walker instead. The change in collaborators does give Thomas a bit of boost, even if it doesn’t quite mark a shift in direction. Chip Tooth Smile is filled with stirring power ballads and rousing anthems, songs where Thomas reckons with the worst in him and finds solace in lasting love. With Walker, Thomas relies on bolder colors than he has in the recent past, but there’s also an acceptance of the singer/songwriter’s middle age; he’s not expanding his worldview so much as refining it, attempting to articulate as cleanly and clearly as possible. To that end, Chip Tooth Smile won’t win any new fans, but it feels as complete a portrait of Thomas’ intent and gifts as possible: his openheartedness is as direct and forceful as the arena-filling anthems they accompany. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. One Less Day (Dying Young)
2. Timeless
3. Can’t Help Me Now
4. Funny
5. I Love It
6. The Man To Hold The Water
7. We Were Beautiful
8. It’s Only Love
9. Early In The Morning
10. The Worst In Me
11. Tomorrow
12. Breathe Out