Rita Coolidge – The Lady’s Not For Sale (1972/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Rita Coolidge – The Lady’s Not For Sale (1972/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 43:32 minutes | 878 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © A&M Records

Rita Coolidge’s third album is a fine mixture of covers and originals that manages to showcase her fine vocal abilities as well as show off an impressive array of friends. Booker T. Jones contributes not only his fine flute skills, but also two songs. Noted guitarist and songwriter Marc Benno also lends his impressive, laid-back guitar work all throughout the album. His “Donut Man” adds an air of lazy funk to the proceedings. Bob Dylan’s “I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight” probably gets the most soulful reading, with Coolidge’s take on Leonard Cohen’s “Bird on a Wire” following close behind. Kris Kristofferson is represented at the tail end of the album with the title track. She may not have had the most distinctive of voices, but Coolidge definitely captured the sort of laid-back energy and approach associated with early-’70s country-rock. If Rita Coolidge’s voice and stellar class of backing musicians aren’t enough to sway you, consider the cover that shows her bedecked in what looks to be several pounds of turquoise, or the gatefold in which she appears pensive, with Stonehenge not too far in the background. – Jon Pruett

1. Rita Coolidge – My Crew
2. Rita Coolidge – Fever (Album Version)
3. Rita Coolidge – Bird On The Wire (Album Version)
4. Rita Coolidge – I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight (Album Version)
5. Rita Coolidge – A Woman Left Lonely
6. Rita Coolidge – Whiskey, Whiskey
7. Rita Coolidge – Everybody Loves A Winner
8. Rita Coolidge – Donut Man
9. Rita Coolidge – Inside Of Me
10. Rita Coolidge – The Lady’s Not For Sale