Ringo Starr – Old Wave (1983/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Ringo Starr – Old Wave (1983/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:42 minutes | 670 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Boardwalk Records

Produced by Joe Walsh, Old Wave was a well-put-together collection of good pop/rock songs that was all wrong for Ringo Starr. The songs required interpretive abilities simply not found in a singer of Ringo’s pleasant, but limited voice and phrasing. “She’s About a Mover” and “I Keep Forgettin”‘ were appropriate covers, but Ringo was out of his depth on reflective songs like “Picture Show Life” and “As Far as We Can Go.” There was also a throwaway instrumental, “Everybody’s in a Hurry but Me,” featuring Eric Clapton and John Entwistle. Neil Bogart, the head of Boardwalk, Ringo’s record label, died during the making of this album, and the closest it got to an American release was on RCA Canada, which was just as well.


1. Ringo Starr – In My Car
2. Ringo Starr – Hopeless
3. Ringo Starr – Alibi
4. Ringo Starr – Be My Baby
5. Ringo Starr – She’s About a Mover
6. Ringo Starr – I Keep Forgettin’
7. Ringo Starr – Picture Show Life
8. Ringo Starr – As Far as We Can Go
9. Ringo Starr – Everybody’s in a Hurry but Me
10. Ringo Starr – Going Down