RIAS Kammerchor – Mozart: Die Entführung aus dem Serail (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

RIAS Kammerchor – Mozart: Die Entführung aus dem Serail (2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:39:45 minutes | 2,79 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © harmonia mundi

Astounding modernity The 1782 premiere in Vienna of Die Entführung aus dem Serail brought Mozart unprecedented public and professional success. This dazzling triumph did not come by chance: with music placing the accent on exoticism and a libretto celebrating the ideas of the Enlightenment, the opera ran counter to contemporary prejudices concerning the Ottoman Empire. In championing a German national opera, Mozart gave an important place to the spoken dialogue, often severely cut, but fully restored and brought to life here to underline the astounding modernity of the text.

“Mari Eriksmoen was an charming and malicious Blonde with a light and elegant soprano well-suited to the fiery English maid. As Konstanze, Robin Johannssen’s soprano boasted a middle range with silvery tones. The male side of the cast was just perfect. As Pedrillo, Julian Prégardien allied both appealing singing and jubilatory acting. Maximilian Schmitt’s Belmonte impressed by his powerful and manly lyric sound and with aptly executed fioriturain “Ich baue ganz auf deine Stärke”… The strongest performance however came from Dimitry Ivaschenko. The Russian bass, combining splendid deep tone with extreme flexibility, managed to convey the comical side of his character, without reducing it to the buffoonery that often mars other interpretations.

Totally at one with the theatrical approach to the performance, the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin followed the maestro’s contrasted tempi and played superbly…this performance at the Concertgebouw took place a few days after Mr. Jacobs recorded the work in the studio with the same team of soloists and orchestra. Without the visual support, that recording will be a very different experience but I’d certainly be keen to see if it matches up to my memories.” Nicolas Nguyen, 21 September 2014, bachtrack.com

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
1 Die Entführung aus dem Serail, K. 384: Ouvertüre 04:00
Act I
2 Erster auftritt: Hier soll ich dich denn sehen (Belmonte) 02:21
3 Zweiter auftritt: No. 2 Lied und Duett Wer ein Liebchen hat gefunden (Osmin) 06:26
4 Dritter auftritt: Ich kann doch nicht noch so einen Schurken (Osmin, Pedrillo) 01:20
5 Dritter auftritt: No. 3 Arie Solche hergelaufne Laffen (Osmin) 05:00
6 Vierter auftritt: Hau bloss ab, verwünschter Aufpasser! (Pedrillo, Belmonte) 04:09
7 Fünfter auftritt: No. 4 Arie Konstanze! dich wiederzusehen! (Pedrillo, Belmonte) 04:44
8 Sechster auftritt: No. 5a Türkischer Marsch 02:08
9 Sechster auftritt: No. 5b Singt dem grossen Bassa Lieder (Chor der Janitscharen) 01:35
10 Siebenter auftritt: Immer noch traurig, geliebte Konstanze? (Bassa Selim, Konstanze) 01:47
11 Siebenter auftritt: No. 6 Arie Ach, ich liebte, war so glücklich (Konstanze) 04:59
12 Siebenter auftritt: Kummer! Immer nur Kummer!(Bassa Selim, Pedrillo, Belmonte, Osmin) 06:19
13 Zehnter auftritt: No. 7 Terzett Marsch! Marsch! Marsch! (Osmin) 02:14
14 Erster auftritt: Wer zum Teufel hat dir das Zeug in den Kopf gesetzt? (Osmin, Blonde) 00:32
Act II
15 Erster auftritt: No. 8 Arie Durch Zärtlichkeit und Schmeicheln (Blonde) 03:54
16 Erster auftritt: Ei, seht doch mal (Osmin) 03:42
17 Erster auftritt: No. 9 Duett Ich gehe, doch rate ich dir (Osmin) 03:48
18 Zweiter auftritt: Da ist Konstanze (Blonde, Konstanze) 00:42
19 Zweiter auftritt: Welcher Wechsel herrscht in meiner Seele (Konstanze) 02:10
20 Zweiter auftritt: No. 10 Arie Traurigkeit ward mir zum Lose (Konstanze) 05:05
21 Zweiter auftritt: Noch immer so traurig, Fräulein Konstanze? (Blonde) – Nun, Konstanze, denkst du über mein Begehren nach?(Bassa Selim, Konstanze) 03:48
22 Dritter auftritt: No. 11 Arie Martern aller Arten (Konstanze) 08:35
23 Vierter auftritt: Verzweiflung ist es! (Bassa Selim) 01:01
24 Fünfter auftritt, Sechster auftritt: Hm… Kein Bassa, keine Konstanze mehr da (Blonde) – Psst! Psst! Blondchen! Ist die Luft rein? (Pedrillo, Blonde) 02:30
25 Sechster auftritt, Siebenter auftritt: No. 12 Arie Welche Wonne, welche Lust (Blonde) – Ach, dass doch alles schon vorbei wäre (Pedrillo) 02:51
26 Siebenter auftritt: No. 13 Arie Frisch zum Kampfe! (Pedrillo) 03:10
27 Achter auftritt: Ha! Geht’s hier so lustig zu? (Osmin, Pedrillo) 02:29
28 Achter auftritt: No. 14 Duett Vivat Bacchus! Bacchus lebe! (Pedrillo) 02:22
29 Achter auftritt: Glaub’ mir, Osmin (Pedrillo) – Hahaha, alter Eisenfresser (Pedrillo, Konstanze, Belmonte, Blonde) 03:51
30 Neunter auftritt: No. 15 Arie Wenn der Freude Tränen fliessen (Belmonte) 05:58
31 Neunter auftritt: Höre, liebste Konstanze (Belmonte) 00:49
32 Neunter auftritt: No. 16 Quartett Ach Belmonte! ach, mein Leben! (Konstanze) 09:33
33 Erster auftritt, Zweiter auftritt: Ich möchte wohl der Kaiser sein! (Pedrillo) – O Konstanze, Konstanze! (Belmonte, Pedrillo) 01:51
34 Zweiter auftritt: No. 17 Arie Ich baue ganz auf deine Stärke (Belmonte) 06:11
35 Vierter auftritt: Alles liegt im Schlaf, Herr (Pedrillo, Belmonte, Konstanze, Blonde) 00:51
36 Vierter auftritt: No. 18 Romanze In Mohrenland gefangen war (Pedrillo) 02:38
37 Vierter auftritt: Herr, kommt schnell! (Pedrillo) – Ein Riesenkrach! (Osmin, Blonde, Pedrillo, Janitscharen, Wache) 05:57
38 Fünfter auftritt: No. 19 Arie O, wie will ich triumphieren (Osmin )03:49
39 Sechster auftritt: (Osmin, Bassa Selim, Konstanze, Belmonte) 05:57
40 Siebenter auftritt: (Belmonte, Konstanze, Bassa Selim) 08:34
41 Siebenter auftritt: (Wache, Pedrillo, Blonde) 00:50
42 Neunter auftritt: (Bassa Selim, Belmonte, Konstanze, Pedrillo, Osmin, Janitscharen) 04:04
43 Neunter auftritt: No. 21 Vaudeville Nie werd’ ich deine Huld verkennen (Belmonte) 05:11

Mari Eriksmoen, soprano (Blondchen)
Robin Johannsen, soprano (Konstanze)
Maximilian Schmitt, tenor (Belmonte)
Julian Prégardien, tenor (Pedrillo)
Dimitry Ivashchenko, vass (Osmin)
Cornelius Obonya, speaker (Bassa Selim)
RIAS Kammerchor & Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin
René Jacobs, conductor