Ralph Towner – My Foolish Heart (2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Ralph Towner – My Foolish Heart (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 40:26 minutes | 715 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front cover | © ECM Records
Recorded: February 2016, Auditorio Stelia Molio RSI, Lugano

After critically-lauded projects with trumpeter Paolo Fresu (Chiaroscuro) and with fellow guitarists Wolfgang Muthspiel and Slava Grigoryan (Travel Guide), Ralph Towner returns to solo guitar for My Foolish Heart. Whether on classical guitar or 12-string guitar Towner’s touch is immediately identifiable. Solo music is an important thread through his rich discography and this new album – recorded at Lugano’s Auditorio Stelio Molo RSI in February 2016 and produced by Manfred Eicher – follows in the great tradition of Diary, Solo Concert, Ana, Anthem, and Time Line. It features finely-honed new compositions as well as a pair of tunes (“Shard” and “Rewind”) from the songbook of Oregon, a dedication to the late Paul Bley (“Blue As In Bley”) and a single standard – Victor Young’s “My Foolish Heart” which Towner first came to love in Bill Evans’s interpretation.

Having focused on small groups in the 2010s and even collaborated with Argentine ensemble Aires Tango for 2016’s Duende, Ralph Towner returns to a solo guitar format on his 2017 ECM effort, the warmly ruminative My Foolish Heart. Entirely consisting of Towner’s classically inflected original pieces save for a gorgeously measured rendition of the Victor Young/Ned Washington title track composition, My Foolish Heart is a virtuoso session, intimately delivered. On past solo albums, like 1973’s Diary and 1982’s evocative Blue Sun, Towner deftly exploited the use of overdubbing various instruments to achieve his atmospheric layers of harmony. Here, with producer Manfred Eicher at the helm, he favors the minimalism of simply playing his woody, acoustic classical and 12-string guitars into a microphone. Even so, there are moments here, like the foreboding “Clarion Call,” in which Towner improbably sounds like two musicians combined in duet, his bass figures interwoven with his crystalline, moon-like, high-end phrases. Similarly, the 12-string feature “Biding Time,” spills forth like sun on water and brings to mind something along the lines of a classical reworking of a Yes song. Elsewhere, Towner displays his ability to deftly bridge styles on the opening “Pilgrim,” which combines Elizabethan-sounding melodies and moody jazz inflection. No less compelling, the sad-eyed “I’ll Sing to You” is a bittersweet ballad in which Towner sobs and sighs across his fretboard until landing on a repeated Spanish-flavored phrase that has the feel of someone staring into the dark horizon as they think on a lost love. Ultimately, it’s Towner’s immense gift for portraying that kind of romantic drama that makes My Foolish Heart such an evocative listening experience. -AllMusic Review by Matt Collar

1 Pilgrim 4:31
2 I’ll Sing To You 4:32
3 Saunter 5:01
4 My Foolish Heart 3:51
5 Dolomiti Dance 4:24
6 Clarion Call 4:40
7 Two Poets 2:04
8 Shard 0:54
9 Ubi Sunt 1:20
10 Biding Time 1:29
11 Blue As In Bley 3:53
12 Rewind 3:43

Ralph Towner, classical guitar, twelve-string guitar