R.E.M. – Automatic For The People (1992/2012) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

R.E.M. – Automatic For The People (1992/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 48:55 minutes | 608 MB | Genre: Rock, Alternative
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Front cover | @ Concord Records

Automatic For The People is the haunting masterpiece from alternative rock legends, R.E.M. Layered with lush strings and glistening keyboards, the band’s eighth studio recording is a musical exploration on life’s mortality. Listed as one of Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Albums of All Time,” the record peaked at #2 on Billboard’s Top 200 and yielded six hit singles including “Drive,” “Ignoreland,” “Everybody Hurts,” “Man On The Moon” and “The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite.” The multi-platinum album earned worldwide success and remains one of the band’s most celebrated releases.

Turning away from the sweet pop of Out of Time, R.E.M. created a haunting, melancholy masterpiece with Automatic for the People. At its core, the album is a collection of folk songs about aging, death, and loss, but the music has a grand, epic sweep provided by layers of lush strings, interweaving acoustic instruments, and shimmering keyboards. Automatic for the People captures the group at a crossroads, as they moved from cult heroes to elder statesmen, and the album is a graceful transition into their new status. It is a reflective album, with frank discussions on mortality, but it is not a despairing record — “Nightswimming,” “Everybody Hurts,” and “Sweetness Follows” have a comforting melancholy, while “Find the River” provides a positive sense of closure. R.E.M. have never been as emotionally direct as they are on Automatic for the People, nor have they ever created music quite as rich and timeless, and while the record is not an easy listen, it is the most rewarding record in their oeuvre.

01 – Drive
02 – Try Not To Breathe
03 – The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
04 – Everybody Hurts
05 – New Orleans Instrumental No. 1
06 – Sweetness Follows
07 – Monty Got A Raw Deal
08 – Ignoreland
09 – Star Me Kitten
10 – Man On The Moon
11 – Nightswimming
12 – Find The River