Prince – Around The World In A Day (1985/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Prince – Around The World In A Day (1985/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 42:33 minutes | 1,54 GB | Genre: Rock, Funk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | © Warner Bros. Records

Around The World In A Day is Prince’s double Platinum classic. This seminal masterpiece follows the success of Purple Rain, reaching #1 on the Billboard 200. Adding a variety of psychedelic elements to his sound, the albums features Top Ten hits including “America,” “Pop Life” and “Raspberry Beret”.

Purple Rain made Prince sound like he could do anything, but it still didn’t prepare even his most fervent fans for the insular psychedelia of Around the World in a Day. Prince had made his interior world sound fascinating and utopian on Purple Rain, but Around the World in a Day is filled with cryptic religious imagery, bizarre mysticism, and confounding metaphors which were drenched in heavily processed guitars, shimmering keyboards, grandiose strings, and layers of vocals. As an album, the record is a bit impenetrable, requiring great demands of the listener, but individual songs do shine through: “Raspberry Beret” is a brilliant piece of neo-psychedelia with an indelible chorus, “Pop Life” is a snide swipe at stardom that emphasizes Prince’s outsider status, “Condition of the Heart” is a fine ballad, “America” is a good funk jam, “Paisley Park” is heavy and slightly frightening guitar psychedelia, while the title track is a sunny, kaleidoscopic pastiche of Magical Mystery Tour. The problem is, only a handful of the songs have much substance outside of their detailed production and intoxicating performances, and the album has a creepy sense of paranoia that is eventually its undoing.

01 – Around The World In A Day
02 – Paisley Park
03 – Condition Of The Heart
04 – Raspberry Beret
05 – Tamborine
06 – America
07 – Pop Life
08 – The Ladder
09 – Temptation