Poco – Indian Summer (1977/2021) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Poco – Indian Summer (1977/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/192kHz | Time – 41:08 minutes | 1,68 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Geffen

Although Indian Summer wasn’t the commercial breakthrough Poco had hoped for (it would come a year later with Legend), there’s nothing inherently bad here. The band was more compact than ever, evenly sharing songwriting duties, and Rusty Young’s confident pedal steel seemed to distinguish Poco from most other country-rock bands. However, this record is also a few notches down from their best, early material. The strongest song is the title track, which has some nice steel guitar and harmony vocals, but this high point is balanced by the closing number, “The Dance,” a clumsy suite that’s burdened by an over-the-top string and horn arrangement. The only other item of note is a courtesy appearance by Steely Dan’s Donald Fagen, who plays Arp synthesizer on a couple songs. File this under the “treading water” category.

1. Poco – Indian Summer (Album Version)
2. Poco – Twenty Years
3. Poco – Me And You
4. Poco – Downfall
5. Poco – Win Or Lose
6. Poco – Living In The Band
7. Poco – Stay (Night Until Noon)
8. Poco – Find Out In Time
9. Poco – When The Dance Is Over
10. Poco – Go On And Dance
11. Poco – Never Gonna Stop / When The Dance Is Over (Reprise)