Placido Domingo – Amore Infinito (2008/2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Plácido Domingo – Amore Infinito (2008/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 48:49 minutes | 534 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Sony Classical

This is a ‘Sony Classical’ re-issue to mark the canonization of Pope John Paul II on April 27. To honor him, Plácido Domingo will perform repertoire from this album at the ceremony in Poznan, Poland.

It includes songs inspired by the Poems of John Paul II – Karol Wojtyła. Featuring guest artists Josh Groban, Katherine Jenkins, Andrea Bocelli and Vanessa Williams. ‘These songs have enormous significance for me … They will speak not only to religious people but to anyone who respects that uniquely great man, John Paul II, who chose to dedicate his life to the service of humanity and of God.’

Plácido Domingo – one of the most beloved spiritual leaders of the modern era, Pope John Paul II was not only a humanitarian and theologian, but an artist and author. In his pre-Papal life as Karol Wojtyła he wrote plays, essays, and, most notably, poetry. For this CD, Plácido Domingo and his son Plácido Domingo Jr. used a selection of not only religious poetry, but also poems about love and people’s daily life.

01. La coscienza
02. La tua semplicità
03. Risuona anima mia
04. A Mother’s Wonderment
05. Anima nell’anima
06. Canto del sole inesauribile
07. Palabras
08. Love
09. Amore glorificato
10. Gratitude
11. La libertà
12. Madre