Pierre Boulez – Ravel – Bolero, Rapsodie espagnole, Ma mere l’Oye (2016) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Pierre Boulez – Ravel – Bolero, Rapsodie espagnole, Ma mere l’Oye (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 01:15:38 minutes | 635 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

The Berlin Philharmonic never has had much opportunity to play Ravel, which is a pity because under Pierre Boulez they do it extremely well. Under their current music director, Claudio Abbado, the orchestra more often than not sounds positively comatose. How gratifying then, that with a dynamic conductor and music that’s fun to play, they rouse themselves to sound like the world-class ensemble they really can be when they’re not resting on their laurels. Bol’ero is really smashing, with a knockout final cadence, and the solo players in all of these works cover themselves with glory. This is a great Ravel disc. -David Hurwitz

1. Pierre Boulez – Bol’ero, M. 81
2. Pierre Boulez – Alborada del gracioso, M. 43 (Assez vif)
3. Pierre Boulez – Pr’elude : Tr`es lent
4. Pierre Boulez – I. Danse du rouet et Sc`ene – Allegro
5. Pierre Boulez – II. Pavane de la Belle au bois dormant.Lent – Allegro – Mouvement de Valse mod’er’e
6. Pierre Boulez – III. Les Entretiens de la Belle et de la B^ete.Mouvement de Valse mod’er’e
7. Pierre Boulez – IV. Petit poucet.Tr`es mod’er’e
8. Pierre Boulez – Interlude
9. Pierre Boulez – V. Laideronnette, Imp’eratrice des pagodes.Mouvement de marche – Allegro – Tr`es mod’er’e
10. Pierre Boulez – Apoth’eose : Le Jardin f’eerique. Lent et grave
11. Pierre Boulez – I. Pr’elude `a la nuit
12. Pierre Boulez – II. Malague~na
13. Pierre Boulez – III. Habanera
14. Pierre Boulez – IV. Feria
15. Pierre Boulez – Tr`es souple de rythme