Peter White – Groovin’ (2016) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Peter White – Groovin’ (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 47:48 minutes | 976 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Concord Records

Over the years, British-born, LA-based Peter White has maintained a reputation as one of the most versatile and prolific acoustic guitarists on the contemporary jazz landscape. For his fifteenth recording as a leader, “Groovin’”, he returns to some of his favorite tracks from the ’60s and ’70s, giving each of them his own interpretation. The album features The Young Rascals’ Groovin’, Stevie Wonder’s Do I Do, Otis Redding’s (Sittin On) The Dock of the Bay, John Lennon and Paul McCartney’s Here, There and Everywhere and much more, augmented by an impressive array of special guests, including Vincent Ingala, Rick Braun, Charlotte White, Ricky Lawson, Ramon Yslas, David Dyson, Selina Albright and Stevo Theard.

Guitarist Peter White features timeless compositions from the 1950s to the ’80s on Groovin’, taking up where his previous all-covers albums Reflections (1994) and Playin’ Favorites (2006) left off. On Groovin’, White is not only nostalgic but adventurous and playful, injecting vocal shadings and bold horn charts into the mix and even some tougher guitar sounds than he’s generally known for. Like so many of us, White still feels closest to the music he absorbed while growing up as a British teen in the 1960s: soaking up the exciting new sounds of rock bands like the Beatles and soul giants like Stevie Wonder and trying to learn to play those songs on the acoustic guitar his dad had given him. Now, after more than four decades as both a leader and sideman, he’s returning to those tunes that made such an impact on him so forcefully in his youth. For White, the challenge in interpreting such familiar music is in putting his own stamp on a number while retaining the characteristics that make it instantly recognizable.


01 – Groovin’
02 – Do I Do
03 – (Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay
04 – How Long
05 – I Can See Clearly Now
06 – I Heard It Through the Grapevine
07 – Never Knew Love Like This Before
08 – Sleepwalk
09 – When Will I See You Again
10 – Here, There and Everywhere

NOTE: 48 kHz/24-bit Recording, mastered in 96 kHz/24-bit.