Peter Gabriel – Peter Gabriel IV (1982/2015) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Peter Gabriel – Peter Gabriel IV (1982/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 00:46:11 minutes | 937 MB  | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | @ Charisma Records

Peter Gabriel’s self-titled fourth solo album, also known as SECURITY, will be re-issued on vinyl for the first time since 2002.
The album has been Half-Speed Remastered and cut to lacquers at 45RPM, across 2 x heavyweight LPs, to deliver maximum dynamic range in the sound. Vinyl cut by Matt Colton at Alchemy Mastering, mastered by Tony Cousins at Metropolis and overseen by Peter’s main sound engineer Richard Chappell. This album really has never sounded so good! It also looks amazing with the gatefold sleeve utilising imagery from the original LP inner bags and all images are newly re-scanned.
The album comes with a download card with a choice of digital download (Hi-Res 24/96k or 16/44.1k), and is both Numbered and a Limited Edition – 10,000 for the World.
Co-produced by Peter and David Lord this is the first album where Peter really immersed himself in the music of distant lands and cultures. It was also his first fully digital recording. These two elements created a deeply effective soldering-together of futurism and generations-old tradition.

Security — which was titled Peter Gabriel everywhere outside of the U.S. — continues where the third Gabriel album left off, sharing some of the same dense production and sense of cohesion, yet lightening the atmosphere and expanding the sonic palette somewhat. The gloom that permeates the third album has been alleviated and while this is still decidedly somber and serious music, it has a brighter feel, partially derived from Gabriel’s dabbling in African and Latin rhythms. These are generally used as tonal coloring, enhancing the synthesizers that form the basic musical bed of the record, since much of this is mood music (for want of a better word). Security flows easily and enticingly, with certain songs — the eerie “San Jacinto,” “I Have the Touch,” “Shock the Monkey” — arising from the wash of sound. That’s not to say that the rest of the album is bland easy listening — it’s designed this way, to have certain songs deliver greater impact than the rest. As such, it demands close attention to appreciate tone poems like “The Family and the Fishing Net,” “Lay Your Hands on Me,” and “Wallflower” — and not all of them reward such intensive listening. Even with its faults, Security remains a powerful listen, one of the better records in Gabriel’s catalog, proving that he is becoming a master of tone, style, and substance, and how each part of the record enhances the other. -AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 The Rhythm Of The Heat 5:19
2 San Jacinto 6:34
3 I Have The Touch 4:36
4 The Family And The Fishing Net 7:08
5 Shock The Monkey 5:28
6 Lay Your Hands On Me 6:10
7 Wallflower 6:38
8 Kiss Of Life 4:18

Peter Gabriel – vocals, keyboards, programming, surdo, Linn LM-1
Tony Levin – bass, stick
David Rhodes – guitar
Jerry Marotta – drums, percussion
Larry Fast – synthesizers

John Ellis – backing vocals on tracks 1, 3, 8, guitar on tracks 2, 4
Roberto Laneri – treated saxophone on track 4
Morris Pert – timbales on track 6, percussion on track 8
Stephen Paine – Fairlight CMI on track 4
David Lord – synthesizers on tracks 6, 7, piano on tracks 7, 8
Peter Hammill – backing vocals on tracks 4, 5, 6
Jill Gabriel – backing vocals on track 2
Ekome Dance Company – Ghanaian drums on track 1