Peter Gabriel – Back To Front (Leipzig, Germany 11.10.2013) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Peter Gabriel – Back To Front (Leipzig, Germany 11.10.2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 138:35 minutes | 3,13 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | Small front

You may call it yet another sensation: Peter Gabriel will hit the road again this fall to celebrate the 25th anniversary of So. He will reunite most members of the old line-up. Every show is available as an official soundboard recording. Unlike the 2012 Encores, the new series is available directly from Peter Gabriel’s website.

After a selection of short tours with the New Blood Orchestra within the last 2,5 years, Peter Gabriel returned on stage again with a full band, celebrating the 25th anniversary of So. Gabriel reunited with his old bandmates of 1987.

Sound: This show is considered one of the best soundwise, though the venue is not quite suited for a good concert sound. Hats off to Ben Findlay for that. The Encore shows a bit of the echo, but that adds to the live atmosphere. The drums sound very cold here, the mix between instruments is well-balanced. The guitars have the upper hand in Digging In The Dirt, so have the keyboards in Big Time.

Fuck-Ups: Peter fumbles up the beginning of Come Talk To Me and starts the song over with an ironic aside about “one of Peter’s fuck-ups”. The beginning is rather cautious and less playful then. There is an extremely loud microphone moment in Digging In The Dirt. The beginning of Solsbury Hill is a bit wobbly. Peter seems slightly unsure about the lyrics in Big Time, but safely avoids a major fuck-up.

Special events: As usual in German, Peter speaks mainly in German. The xylophone loop seems to have become a standard part in No Self Control. Interestingly, it did not stand out during the show (when you were there).

Other information / comparison to other Encores:
The band have become more secure and the sound better balanced. Leipzig has a superior version of Red Rain. Peter has a bit of trouble with his voice in places. Mercy Street shows that Peter can or needs to sing in a different way when he is lying down. This was not so apparent before. David Sancious’ solo in In Your Eyes is still peculiar, continuing a tour tradition.

Summary: A very fine mix and the band are really coming together on this one. Tiny weaknesses in Peter’s vocals do not matter much. Recommended.

01 – Introduction
02 – O But
03 – Come Talk To Me
04 – Shock The Monkey
05 – Family Snapshot
06 – Digging In The Dirt
07 – Secret World
08 – The Family And The Fishing Net
09 – No Self Control
10 – Solsbury Hill
11 – Why Don’t You Show Yourself
12 – Red Rain
13 – Sledgehammer
14 – Don’t Give Up
15 – That Voice Again
16 – Mercy Street
17 – Big Time
18 – We Do What We’re Told (Milgram’s 37)
19 – This Is the Picture (Excellent Birds)
20 – In Your Eyes
21 – The Tower That Ate People
22 – Biko

Peter Gabriel: Vocals, Keyboards
Tony Levin: Bass
David Rhodes: Guitars
David Sancious: Keyboards
Manu Katché: Drums
Jennie Abrahamson: Vocals / Background Vocals
Linnea Olsson: Background Vocals