Peter Erskine and the Dr. Um Band – Second Opinion (2017) [ProStudioMasters FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Peter Erskine and the Dr. Um Band – Second Opinion (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 57:11 minutes | 1,09 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: ProStudioMasters | Front Cover | ©  Fuzzy Music
Recorded by Mark Hornsby, Mixed by Talley Sherwood

The follow-up release to Peter Erskine’s Grammy-nominated “Dr. Um” album, reuniting the production team of Erskine with Grammy-nominated keyboardist and arranger John Beasley. “Second Opinion” is just that: a new look at songs and genres that are ripe and begging for expert musical attention.
From funky originals to Henry Mancini covers, the Dr. Um Band delivers. Featuring Peter Erskine, John Beasley, Bob Sheppard and Benjamin Shepherd. Recorded at Sweetwater Studios, engineered by Mark Hornsby and mixed by Talley Sherwood. Peter feels that this is his “best album yet!” The drum sound will blow you away.

Nerds who pick up Modern Drummer for the articles and not the hot pix of Neil Peart are well aware of Erskine, who’s topped that magazine’s poll as Best Drummer 10 or so times. He’s been on more than 600 records and helped out on a bunch of soundtracks, including all three Austin Powers movies. Sad that someone who’s so famous in certain circles needs that kind of introduction, but there you are — jazz heads are just happy for any written press, believe me. John Beasley on keys and Bob Shepperd on sax and flute front Erskine and bassist Benjamin Shepherd — it’s a package that sounds small, but the sounds are surprisingly large, starting with opener “Hipnotherapy,” which finds Erskine keeping simple time for a lazy hot-summer-midnight groove whose urbanity is pure Yellowjackets. Shepherd puts on a bass clinic in “Eleven Eleven,” bubbling away and barely coming up for air in this 1970s-funk-injected exercise, heavily reminiscent of vintage Ramsey Lewis owing to Beasley’s simple but busy electric piano (Shepperd’s sax is wide-screen in that one also). This one is a go-to for laid-back soundscaping; even the hotter tracks are sublime and friendly. I’ll be pulling this one out often. —Eric W. Seager

1 Hipnotherapy 7:42
2 Eleven Eleven 4:59
3 Street of Dreams 5:54
4 Not so Yes 7:01
5 Did It Have to Be You? 7:07
6 Lida Rose 4:45
7 Solar Steps 6:39
8 Dreamsville 5:22
9 Willow Weep for Me 7:42

John Beasley, keys
Bob Sheppard, saxes, flutes
Benjamin Shepherd, bass
Peter Erskine, drums, percussions