Pere Ubu – The Modern Dance (1978/2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Pere Ubu – The Modern Dance (1978/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 36:31 minutes | 772 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Fire Records

The Modern Dance is the debut studio album by American rock band Pere Ubu. The album was issued in early 1978, and although the record made little commercial impact at home or abroad, its manic intensity and dark impenetrability proved profoundly influential on countless post-punk acts on both sides of the Atlantic.

There isn’t a Pere Ubu recording you can imagine living without. The Modern Dance remains the essential Ubu purchase (as does the follow-up, Dub Housing). For sure, Mercury had no idea what they had on their hands when they released this as part of their punk rock offshoot label Blank, but it remains a classic slice of art-punk. It announces itself quite boldly: the first sound you hear is a painfully high-pitched whine of feedback, but then Tom Herman’s postmodern Chuck Berry riffing kicks off the brilliant “Non-Alignment Pact,” and you soon realize that this is punk rock unlike any you’ve ever heard. David Thomas’ caterwauling is funny and moving, Scott Krauss (drums) and Tony Maimone (bass) are one of the great unheralded rhythm sections in all of rock, and the “difficult” tracks like “Street Waves,” “Chinese Radiation,” and the terrifying “Humor Me” are revelatory, and way ahead of their time. The Modern Dance is the signature sound of the avant-garage: art rock, punk rock, and garage rock mixing together joyously and fearlessly. ~~ AllMusic Review by John Dougan

01 – Non-Alignment Pact
02 – Modern Dance
03 – Laughing
04 – Street Waves
05 – Chinese Radiation
06 – Life Stinks
07 – Real World
08 – Over My Head
09 – Sentimental Journey
10 – Humor Me