Per Norgard – Symphonies Nos. 1 & 8 – Wiener Philharmoniker, Sakari Oramo (2014) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Per Norgard – Symphonies Nos. 1 & 8 – Wiener Philharmoniker, Sakari Oramo (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 00:57:19 minutes | 571 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: | @ Dacapo Records
Recorded at Konzerthaus Wien, Symphony no. 1 on 16 and 17 May 2013; Symphony no. 8 on 25 and 26 May 2013

With this world premiere recording, the Vienna Philharmonic offers new perspectives on the most visionary voice of Nordic music and one of the greatest symphonists of our time, Danish composer Per Nørgård (b. 1932). Conducted on this occasion by Finnish Sakari Oramo, these performances of Nørgård’s Symphonies 1 and 8 – two milestones composed with almost six decades between them – are the legendary orchestra’s first recording of new Nordic music.

“The music I would have liked to hear wasn’t there.” This is how Per Nørgård explains why he became a composer, and his attitude has remained the same ever since. Throughout a long life Nørgård has produced some of the most visionary music in the Nordic region, including eight symphonies written between 1953 and 2012. They have their origins in his unique ability to find and express new connections, making him one of the greatest symphonists of our time.
The two symphonies on the CD are his first and his last so far. Different as they are, they share several features; both internal phenomena such as a spatial dimension in the music, and external factors such as the connections with Denmark’s Nordic neighbour Finland. In Symphony no. 1 we hear a link with Finland’s great composer Sibelius, and in 2012 the Eighth Symphony was given its first performance by the Helsinki Philharmonic, the orchestra which a century earlier premiered most of Sibelius’ symphonies. The sym­phony is dedicated to the chief conductor of the orchestra, John Storgårds… -Jens Cornelius

Per Nørgård (b.1932)
Symphony No. 1 “Sinfonia austera” op. 13 (1953-55; rev. 1956)
1 I Tempo moderato 13:43
2 II Calmo molto affetuoso 8:40
3 III Allegro impetuoso 8:41
Symphony No. 8 (2010-2011)
4 I Tempo giusto – Poco allegro, molto distinto 11:44
5 II Adagio molto 7:05
6 III Più mosso – Lento visionaro 7:15

Wiener Philharmoniker
Sakari Oramo, conductor