Pearl Jam – Yield (1998/2016) [AcousticSounds FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Pearl Jam – Yield (1998/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 48:29 minutes | 1,84 GB | Genre: Alternative Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Front Cover | © Epic Records

Yield is the fifth studio album by the American alternative rock band Pearl Jam, released on February 3, 1998. Following a short promotional tour for its previous album, No Code (1996), Pearl Jam recorded Yield throughout 1997 at Studio Litho and Studio X in Seattle, Washington. The album was proclaimed as a return to the band’s early, straightforward rock sound, and marked a more collaborative effort from the band as opposed to relying heavily on frontman Eddie Vedder to compose the songs. The lyrics deal with contemplative themes, albeit seen in a more positive manner compared to the band’s earlier work.

Yield received positive reviews and debuted at number two on the Billboard 200. While like No Code the album soon began dropping down the charts, Yield eventually outsold its predecessor. The band did more promotion for the album compared to No Code, including a return to full-scale touring and the release of a music video for the song “Do the Evolution”. The record has been certified platinum by the RIAA in the United States. The album is Pearl Jam’s last release with drummer Jack Irons, who left the band during the album’s promotional tour.

Perhaps shaken up by the chilly reception to the adventurous No Code, Pearl Jam returned to straight-ahead hard rock on their fifth album, Yield. There remain a few weird flourishes scattered throughout the album, from the spoken word “Push Me, Pull Me” to the untitled Eastern instrumental bonus track, but overall, Yield is the most direct record the group has made since Ten. That doesn’t mean it’s the best. Pearl Jam have trouble coming up with truly undeniable hard rock hooks, and Eddie Vedder remains at his most compelling on folk-tinged, meditative numbers like “Low Light,” “In Hiding,” and “All Those Yesterdays.” They also fall prey to their habit of dividing the record into rock and ballad sides, which makes Yield a little exhausting, even at its concise length. It also emphasizes the relative lack of exceptional material. Yield is more consistent than Vitalogy and No Code, but it doesn’t have songs that reach the highs of “Better Man,” “Corduroy,” or “Who You Are.” Ironically, the album doesn’t rock hard enough — “Do the Evolution” and “Brain of J.” have garage potential, but there’s more bite and distortion on Vedder’s voice than there is on the guitars. It’s hard to view Yield as a disaster, since Pearl Jam’s conviction still rings true, but it’s frustrating that journeyman tendencies have replaced the desperate, searching confusion that was the most appealing element of the band’s music. —AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1. Brain of J. 02:59
2. Faithful 04:18
3. No Way 04:19
4. Given to Fly 04:01
5. Wishlist 03:26
6. Pilate 03:00
7. Do the Evolution 03:54
8. Red Bar 01:06
9. MFC 02:28
10. Low Light 03:46
11. In Hiding 05:00
12. Push Me, Pull Me 02:28
13. All Those Yesterdays 07:42

Jeff Ament – bass guitar, vocals, photography, layout
Stone Gossard – rhythm guitar, vocals, bass, lead guitar
Jack Irons – drums, percussion
Mike McCready – lead guitar
Eddie Vedder – lead vocals, rhythm guitar