Pearl Jam – Binaural (2000/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Pearl Jam – Binaural (2000/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 52:04 minutes | 1,83 GB | Genre: Rock, Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Epic

Binaural is the sixth studio album by the American alternative rock band Pearl Jam. During the production of the album, the band encountered hindrances such as singer Eddie Vedder’s writer’s block, and guitarist Mike McCready’s entrance into rehabilitation due to an addiction to prescription drugs. The music on the record featured an experimental sound, evident on songs that used binaural recording techniques. The album received positive reviews, and debuted at number two on the Billboard 200.

If anything, Pearl Jam was even more in the wilderness – at least as far as the mainstream was concerned – at the beginning of 2000 than they were in the second half of the ’90s. Even with “Last Kiss,” their first big hit single since Ten, under their belts, they were an anomaly on the pop and rock scenes. They were the only one of their old grunge colleagues still standing intact, and they were genuinely alone. No peers, and too sincere to even consider fitting into a pop scene dominated by ‘N Sync on one side and Limp Bizkit on the other. Not surprisingly, they chose to persevere, ignoring trends, completely in favor of being a classicist rock band. This should come as no surprise, since that’s what they’ve done since No Code and, perhaps, Vitalogy, but the real surprise about their sixth studio album Binaural is that it finds the group roaring back to life without dramatically changing the direction they followed on No Code and Yield. Maybe the addition of a new drummer, former Soundgarden member Matt Cameron, has kicked the band to life, but that unfairly dismisses Jack Irons’ worthy contributions. Instead, the difference is focus – though Pearl Jam is trying a lot of different styles, certainly more so than on Yield, they pull it all off better. The songs are sharper, the production is layered, and the performances are as compassionate as ever, resulting in their finest album since Vitalogy.

01 – Breakerfall
02 – Gods’ Dice
03 – Evacuation
04 – Light Years
05 – Nothing As It Seems
06 – Thin Air
07 – Insignificance
08 – Of the Girl
09 – Grievance
10 – Rival
11 – Sleight of Hand
12 – Soon Forget
13 – Parting Ways

Produced by Tchad Blake & Pearl Jam.
Recorded in September 1999 – January 2000 at Studio Litho, Seattle, Washington
Mixed at Southern Tracks, Atlanta, GA and Sunset Sound Factory, Los Angeles, CA.

Eddie Vedder – lead vocals, rhythm guitar, ukulele
Stone Gossard – rhythm guitar
Mike McCready – lead guitar
Jeff Ament – bass, upright bass
Matt Cameron – drums