Paul Williams – Just An Old Fashioned Love Song (1971/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Paul Williams – Just An Old Fashioned Love Song (1971/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 39:28 minutes | 796 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © A&M

Just an Old Fashioned Love Song is a studio album by Paul Williams, released in 1971. Notable songs, that were hits for other artists, on the album include “(Just An) Old Fashioned Love Song”, “We’ve Only Just Begun”, “Let Me Be the One” and “When I Was All Alone”.

Here Williams came into his own, writing the bulk of his material single-handedly. Just an Old Fashioned Love Song boasts “We’ve Only Just Begun” — one of his signature compositions — and finds him in wistful, melancholic form. The uncluttered arrangements, and the fact that Williams has learned to use his voice for emotional effect, make his second album a comparative success. While it’s not really right to assess him in singer/songwriterly terms (he never played piano, guitar, or indeed any instrument, and is more accurately termed an easy listening tunesmith), Just an Old Fashioned Love Song is a worthy addition to the genre. “Waking Up Alone,” “A Perfect Love,” and “Gone Forever” form a touching triptych of moving, and surprisingly subtle, love-gone-wrong songs. Each adequately displays Williams’ growth as both a performer and composer. – Charles Donovan

1. Paul Williams – Waking Up Alone
2. Paul Williams – I Never Had It So Good
3. Paul Williams – We’ve Only Just Begun
4. Paul Williams – That’s Enough For Me
5. Paul Williams – A Perfect Love
6. Paul Williams – An Old Fashioned Love Song
7. Paul Williams – Let Me Be The One
8. Paul Williams – Simple Man
9. Paul Williams – When I Was All Alone
10. Paul Williams – My Love And I
11. Paul Williams – Gone Forever