Paul McCartney And Wings – At The Speed Of Sound (1976) (Deluxe Edition 2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Paul McCartney And Wings – At The Speed Of Sound (1976) (Deluxe Edition 2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 46:38 minutes | 1,47 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | @ Hear Music

At The Speed Of Sound was released on March 25, 1976 and is the fifth studio album by the band Wings. Produced by bandleader Paul McCartney, the album was recorded at Abbey Road Studios. It went on to hit #2 in the UK and had two hit singles, “Silly Love Songs” and “Let ‘Em In”.

If Venus and Mars had the façade of being an album by a band, At the Speed of Sound really is a full-band effort, where everybody gets a chance to sing, even contribute a song. This, ironically, winds up as considerably less cohesive than its predecessor despite these efforts for community, not because Wings was not a band in the proper sense, but because nobody else in the band pulsed as much weight as McCartney, who was resting on his laurels here. Consider this: The two hits “Let ‘Em In” and “Silly Love Songs” are so lightweight that their lack of substance seems nearly defiant. They have sweet, nice melodies and are well crafted, but as songs they’re nonexistent, working primarily as effervescent popcraft of their time. And that’s the case for most of At the Speed of Sound, as tracks like “She’s My Baby” play like the hits, only without memorable hooks. There is a bit of charm to the record, arriving in Linda’s awkwardly sung “Cook of the House,” the mellow “Must Do Something About It,” and especially “Beware My Love,” the best-written song here that effortlessly moves from sun-drenched harmonies to hard rock. Apart from the latter, these are modest pleasures buried on an album that may have been a chart-topping blockbuster, but now seems like one of McCartney’s most transient works. [The CD reissue contains three bonus tracks, including the trad jazz instrumental “Walking in the Park With Eloise,” which his father wrote, and the charming laid-back country “Sally G,” which is better than most of the songs on Speed.] — AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1.Let ‘Em In (2014 Remaster) 5:11
2.The Note You Never Wrote (2014 Remaster) 4:21
3.She’s My Baby (2014 Remaster) 3:08
4.Beware My Love (2014 Remaster) 6:28
5.Wino Junko (2014 Remaster) 5:21
6.Silly Love Songs (2014 Remaster) 5:54
7.Cook Of The House (2014 Remaster) 2:39
8.Time To Hide (2014 Remaster) 4:32
9.Must Do Something About It (2014 Remaster) 3:43
10.San Ferry Anne (2014 Remaster) 2:07
11.Warm And Beautiful (2014 Remaster) 3:15
12.Silly Love Songs (Demo) (2014 Remaster) 2:45
13.She’s My Baby (Demo) (2014 Remaster) 3:46
14.Message To Joe (2014 Remaster) 0:24
15.Beware My Love (John Bonham Version) (2014 Remaster) 5:35
16.Must Do Something About It (Paul’s Version) (2014 Remaster) 3:37
17.Let ‘Em In (Demo) (2014 Remaster) 4:18
18.Warm And Beautiful (Instrumental Demo) (2014 Remaster)